Merry Christmas!

IMG_2790

I hope that everybody had a wonderful holiday.  With that being said….I am so glad it’s over.  Is that wrong?  This was a year of many late nights trying to get it all done. I still don’t now how I managed that. My last late night on the eve before Christmas eve was spent finishing up the limoncello bottles.IMG_2755

I also realized that I am “that relative”….the unreasonable one.  I text my brother on Christmas Eve morning (my Christmas) and asked him if he wanted me to make meatballs. He said sure, so I went out and bought the stuff and came home and put sauce and meatballs on. This was a selfish move on my part because I don’t believe in frozen meatballs and was scared of what they might taste like if my sister in law made them.  Don’t get me wrong she makes very tasty meals, but not so much with the meatballs.  I am a meatball snob….I am aware of this.  Then I remembered the organic sauce with the funny herb that didn’t belong that she used once so I text my brother once again asking him if he wanted me to bring the sauce with the meatballs? I received a text back telling me that was fine but to come early so it could cook with the stuffed shells. Whoa! What? Stuffed shells?  Why would I make meatballs for stuffed shells? Those things don’t go together?  I was under the impression that we were having cavatelli like we always have our whole lives.  That’s when I realized that I had been texting my sister in law, which I could have done if that was who I chose to text and that irritated me a little.  Long story short, we ate cavatelli and meatballs. I cringed when my nephew said “why are these meatballs so soft?”  Poor kid doesn’t even know what a real meatball is. 

  Tradition…..it’s because our family lacks a matriarch. My aunt who rightfully holds the title lives too far away and I live in a shoe box.  This has bothered me for a long time, and it’s one of those things that I can’t control. 

I mentioned it to my baby brother today about being “that relative” he doesn’t see it that way. He says that I am the same as I have always been. I know I am an odd duck and I am lucky that I have a wonderful family that loves me and pretends not to notice it. Maybe I am just being overly sensitive because of the beautiful moon?  I tried a few times last night to get a decent photo…..I need a real camera.FullSizeRender(112)FullSizeRender(113)FullSizeRender(80)

Today was pretty uneventful, I mostly cleaned and organized. My little brother took me to see the new Star Wars in 3D and that was the only time I left the house. I did enjoy the movie but missed the girls presence when I needed to make a smart comment. Sure my brother chuckled but it wasn’t the same.  There was the scene where Kylo Ren (Ben) was trying to get information out of Rey….who handled things way better then Luke Skywalker ever did.  She made a comment about being chased by a man in a mask and he took it off, I said “oh put it back on, the mask is better.” At least Anakin was hot before he became Darth Vadar.  I hope that I haven’t given away anything and for me it was good to see Chewbacca again.  He was always my favorite. I really liked the character with the giant glasses, I’m not sure what her name is but I liked her. The girl thinks her name is Max Kanata but I’m not sure.  The seats were pretty uncomfortable, my hips were killing me and I found myself constantly shifting in my seat. There is a theater in Arizona that my brother frequents with reclining seats where you can order a meal and a drink….we aren’t that high tech in Ohio.

I did get a decent amount of cleaning and laundry done today, I would have taken the tree down if I had the help of at least one kid….maybe Sunday?  It didn’t really feel like Christmas this year, mostly because of the chaos of boxes everywhere. I know that I have said it before but the feelings are getting stronger….something is coming. I have been having the sensation of my stomach going down a big hill an awful lot lately….three times just today.  Change is coming…..Zia

 

About dragonflyzia

I am just a woman finally accepting that I was never meant to be in the box. I don't fit into any stereotypes, please don't try and label me, that doesn't work either. I am embracing my uniqueness in ways that are new and challenging to me, so that I may continue to grow and never stop learning.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Merry Christmas!

Please feel free to share your thoughts..........

