What Was I Thinking?!

fbcfd75902db3aab41f2dd81adf32217I was thinking that maybe I found an answer. I should know better. In some ways I have come so far, but I am not willing to give up certain things.  Everything in moderation is what SB lives by, not me. In some ways I can be extreme.

What did I learn from my tiny gluten fast?  I never want to “have to” live without gluten first off, I am a pasta girl though and through.  I also learned that I am less bloated when I stay away from processed snacks. When I cook I rarely use processed foods but when I snack…..I like salty goodness. I will keep stumbling and eventually I will find what works for me. I will also get my thyroid checked sooner or later, I am aiming for sooner.  I also learned that there are some great recipes out there in the Paleo world. I am not interested in the ones with the coconut oil or coconut flour and or other miscellaneous flours. Don’t get me wrong, coconut oil makes a great deodorant and has many other uses in the homemade skincare world but I can’t stomach the taste or texture. Sorry, just can’t do it and I have tried more than once.

What did me in early?  A local baker recently had cataract surgery and she brought in cookies, last week. I think she brought them in on Friday and and on Tuesday I couldn’t help myself and the little powdery butterball cookie I had was light, airy, and melt in your mouth heavenly. That cookie was totally worth it. My only regret is that I didn’t get to sample some of the other cookies that were in that box last week.

Today in Ohio we had our first measurable snowfall. Our little snow drought has done wonders for our road crews. They knew it was coming, they treated the roads and kept up with them all day…it was kinda like a miracle.

The cold is ridiculous! I can’t even imagine being homeless and out in the elements tonight. I hope there is enough room in the shelters because it’s really bad with the wind and that wind is brutal. Tomorrow will be just as bad, but Thursday will be 38 degrees, I look forward to the little heatwave.  January in Ohio, anything over 32 counts as a heatwave.  Tomorrow I will learn how odd my vintage coat looks with scrubs…it’s the warmest coat I have so I don’t think I will mind so much what it looks like.

I am going to make a real effort to hit the hay early tonight. I haven’t slept very well the last few nights and it’s beginning to show. I have always been one to have dark circles so a little less sleep shows pretty quick……..Zia

About dragonflyzia

I am just a woman finally accepting that I was never meant to be in the box. I don't fit into any stereotypes, please don't try and label me, that doesn't work either. I am embracing my uniqueness in ways that are new and challenging to me, so that I may continue to grow and never stop learning.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to What Was I Thinking?!

  1. vintage coat – the one w/OWL buttons???????????? i need that coat

  2. Joel says:

    Hey. I known I haven’t commented lately but I still read your blog. I’m on vacation in sunny South Africa, 85° and clear blue skies. Just a thought to make you jealous.
    I will call you to catch up soon
    Joel
    Hi Corky

    • dragonflyzia says:

      I was just thinking about you the other day. It’s funny how things work like that 😀 I am very jealous of the blue skies and the 85 temperature, but you knew I would. I hope all is well with you and you enjoy your vacation. I will also make sure Corky gets your message. Take care Joel and enjoy the sun while you can☀️

Please feel free to share your thoughts..........

