Attack of the “itis”

I have always been extremely careful since I started working in the optical field. Eight plus years in the lab I dodged that bullet, even after touching frames full of face cheese. Yes, that is as gross as it sounds.  I have been on the retail side for eleven months. I have seen Blepharitis, Conjuctivitis, Episcleritis,Dermatitus and many more. I woke up at 2:30am, got up, grabbed a drink and went back to bed and my eyes were fine. My alarm went off at 6am and only one eye opened. Ugh, it finally got me! Lucky for me, I work in the right place and put my first medicated drop in around 8:10am.

The girl had a bad attack of cramps this morning and since she has a history of throwing up because of them I let her stay home. While I was getting ready I heard her say “this is it, this is how I’m gonna go.” I rolled my eyes and said “you’re not going to die, you’ll be fine.” She responded with ” how can you say that when any minute twenty tiny satans are going to burst out of my stomach?”  Poor kid. Her lab teacher wasn’t at school today either so at least she didn’t miss anything important. She has her ACTs tomorrow morning, which I already rescheduled once….I’m sure she’ll be fine.

The girl came to work with me yesterday for the first half of the day. She job shadowed Force of Nature Girl. They both had fun just like I knew they would. The girl was even able to witness a contact lens class. I know that it has nothing to do with her plans for the future but she asked and my office manager said she could come.  Now she knows what I do all day, and she can put some faces with the names I mention.

Tonight the girl still wanted a salad from the vault restaurant so we went and grabbed them to go. We came home and watched The Maze Runner because those are the books she is reading now and she wanted me to watch it. It’s only fair since I am making her watch black and white movies on Saturday nights. Tomorrow we are watching Meet Me in St Louis. I watched it once with PT and I really liked it. The movie is in Technicolor which has caused some debate….we are watching it anyway.

I am hoping to be able to wear my contacts tomorrow, even if it is only during the hours that I waitress. I am not a fan of wearing my glasses.  I can get a pair of glasses next month and I am playing around with readers. I haven’t decided if I want to try a progressive?  My distance isn’t bad, it’s just not as crisp as it could be…when it’s nice and crisp….I can’t read my phone.  It’s funny that today I was going to try my actual contact lens prescription and play with the readers. That touch of pink eye stopped that experiment in it’s track.  There are so many choices…progressive lenses, multi focal contacts, mono vision, or backing down the distance a quarter diopter.  I just don’t know if I could wear glasses everyday?  I like the freedom that contact lenses offer but I don’t think I could do the mono vision? I guess I won’t know until I try.

It’s heck getting old…….Zia

About dragonflyzia

I am just a woman finally accepting that I was never meant to be in the box. I don't fit into any stereotypes, please don't try and label me, that doesn't work either. I am embracing my uniqueness in ways that are new and challenging to me, so that I may continue to grow and never stop learning.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Attack of the “itis”

Please feel free to share your thoughts..........

