When I Lose It

You know how it is when something crosses your mind and you can’t wait to blog about it and by the time you sit down to write, it loses something. I am trying really hard to remember and with the “Wooer” in the background I am having some trouble concentrating.  Can you imaging paying all of that money for a  Super Bowl ticket only to have someone who is obnoxious with their wooing sitting near you? How is even possible to be that loud?  It’s very distracting and annoying.  I also haven’t loved a single commercial yet..

I going to try and give this a shot….

I started my Saturday early because the girl had her ACTs. She tried really hard to talk me out of it……I made her go. When we were getting in the car the sun was just coming up and I scanned the treeline just as I do everyday. I noticed a large object in one of the trees out in the woods. I said “is that a hawk?” and then it moved. The girl went into full panic mode “get in the car mom! That’s a big racoon out in the daytime, it must be rabid”  Once we were in the car she said “I didn’t know a racoon could climb a tree?”  She was now wide awake for her test.

I felt a little bit better about leaving her there when she recognized someone before she exited the car.  I came home and cleaned out the fridge. The thorough kind of cleaning…..I took everything out, scrubbed everything down, and threw out everything that had expired.  I took three bags to Goodwill and a bag to the recycle center. Too bad I like to sleep in because I did get a lot accomplished.

My eye was much better by the time I started my waitress job in the afternoon, thank goodness. I am not a fan of wearing my glasses especially when I am running around like I was last night. I think I forgot to mention something about my book…..Is it sad that I get so excited over a tiny piece of background? The other day I named a band Keratoconus and finally found a way to write the dishwasher in my story. Let me say that the dishwasher is a sweet kid and one of my favorites to work with. I can see how he could be a little cocky with his peers but he’s never been like that with me.  He did give me Goat though and Goat (greatest of all time) is the lead singer of Keratoconus.  If System of a Down and Simon and Garfunkel had a love child it would be this band. I thought it was interesting that after I wrote this down in my notebook I heard the new Disturbed cover of Sound of Silence. This is not what I had in my head but I found the timing very interesting.

It just feels good to be excited again, I was worried that I was losing the story.  This band and character are just a tiny part, a paragraph or maybe a page… a tiny layer in the story.  It’s not easy building a fictional world but I like it so far.

I didn’t get home from work until ten and by the time we started watching Meet Me in St Louis it was ten thirty. Needless to say I didn’t make it to bed until around 1 am. The girl had a hard time watching the Halloween scenes. She just couldn’t believe that there was no parental supervision and that it was acceptable to throw flour in an adults face and say “I hate you”. That part of the movie stuck out more than anything else for her.

Today we did a lot of running around, traipsing through the mall was not on my list and yet somehow I found myself doing that very thing.  My non shopper wanted to browse the mall and suddenly we had a little roll reversal going on. It was weird.  When the boy came home from work we went out to eat. A dear friend sent me a gift card to take the kids out to eat and remember my mom and grandma. The kids never even looked at their phones and I didn’t have to say a word. It was a really nice dinner, thank you CG.

Now it’s the time of night where I wish I had more time, there never seems to be enough time…..Zia

 

About dragonflyzia

I am just a woman finally accepting that I was never meant to be in the box. I don't fit into any stereotypes, please don't try and label me, that doesn't work either. I am embracing my uniqueness in ways that are new and challenging to me, so that I may continue to grow and never stop learning.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please feel free to share your thoughts..........

