Germ Battle

Germs are everywhere at work. My coworkers are sneezing and coughing and hacking…ugh. I tried to take it easy last night and today I am still struggling with my nose. I have been taking my vitamin C and I only use hand sanitizer if I have an “itis” come through my window and I have to touch something that they did.  I am still fighting it but I’m not so sure who will win this one.

It’s bitterly cold outside and I think I may have to shovel the top of the driveway before I go to bed.  The kids are at their dads, so it is just me.

Other than that icky news I have been on a purging spree.  I went through a mound of paperwork on Monday and I feel so much lighter. I still have some to shred, lucky for me the girl finished a good chunk of it yesterday.

I did some running around today, not as much as I normally would have done but a decent amount.  I needed some of my favorite local coffee shop’s coffee for a gift so I drove out there. I am happy to report that they are opening a new location….2.5 minutes from where I work! I’m so excited that I don’t have to drive twenty minutes to get my favorite coffee any longer.  They are opening in a few weeks….good for me and bad for my budget.

My one year work anniversary is next month and I have been preparing for my yearly benefits. We get $100.00 reimbursement yearly for scrubs, which roughly adds up to 2 1/2 pair.  We are no longer limited to ceil blue, thank goodness. I bought a nice pair of dark gray scrubs today. Cherokee brand was on sale, buy one get one 40% off, they have a new style “flexibles” and they fit very well. It’s hard when you have skinny legs because most scrubs pants are cut really wide.  I have worn a variety of scrubs over the last year and now I have a better idea of what looks good and is comfortable.  Next week I will buy another pair and on March 16th I will hand over my receipts . I am trying really hard to stay ahead of the game.

I did manage to complete my contact lens experiment and I don’t think I will need a progressive lens this year. Whew! I did find ( the optician actually found) a really nice pair of glasses that I think I could wear a few days a week. I will still wear my contacts most of the time, but it’s nice to have a new option.IMG_2983(1)

This pair on my knee has a white temple which I didn’t love. The optician ordered me a different color, dark brown with brown temples that I liked a lot more. They came in today but I didn’t have time to snap a photo.  The shape is the same so you get the idea.  I get a free pair of glasses once a year, another nice bonus.  When I worked at the lab we received free lenses and had to buy the frame so this is a big bonus for me.

Since I am showing leg, I will show you my crazy bruise.  One of my coworkers at the restaurant….the one who took two weeks to learn how to punch in and out on her own told me that my bruise was a sign of cancer. Who says that?  It’s a nice shade of purple now with a tinge of yellow on the outside.IMG_2985

I have no idea where it came from?  I have a nice bruise on my forearm too and I had no idea where it came from until I grazed the door handle at work. It rubbed the exact spot where my bruise is.  I’m sure I must have run into it.  I say “oh that’s gonna leave a mark” at least 3-4 times a week. I don’t always get a bruise, it depends on how it happens.  The girl thought that this was the dog kennel for sure but it’s a tad higher so who knows. Maybe I just need to eat more bananas?

I hope all of you have had a good week so far and if you live in the Northeast stay warm…..Zia

 

About dragonflyzia

I am just a woman finally accepting that I was never meant to be in the box. I don't fit into any stereotypes, please don't try and label me, that doesn't work either. I am embracing my uniqueness in ways that are new and challenging to me, so that I may continue to grow and never stop learning.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Germ Battle

  1. YOU REALLY HAVE A GREAT JOB – VERY MUCH DESERVED – YOU ROCK

Please feel free to share your thoughts..........

