The Dreaded Four Letter Word….

I guess it’s inevitable in Ohio during the month of February that we are going to get snow. When I say February I am pronouncing it Feb-ru-ary not the way the everybody else does, Feb-u-ary. Yes I am mocked often at work over this, but back to the snow. This wasn’t any snow it was the heavy wet, I’m never going to be able to move tomorrow kind of snow.

Schools started closing last night at seven, the girl had to wait until around 9:30ish before the canceled her school.  The boy and I went out around that same time to start shoveling, it wasn’t much but we wanted to get a head start.  The whole time we were out there the snow was falling fast. I guess we shoveled an inch maybe a tad more, they were calling for 4-8 inches.

We came in after ten and I plopped down to watch some more of the Grammy’s. When Hollywood Vampires came out and Alice Cooper graced the stage in makeup the girl turned to me and said “that is what you looked like after you finished shoveling.”  Geez you do a little bit of physical labor in the elements and have a slight run of mascara and it’s an issue.

I was proud of myself for waking up early to battle what couldn’t be that bad considering our work last night….boy was I wrong.  They were wrong on the 4-8 inch estimate as well.FullSizeRender(1)

I woke the boy up and we got busy. I was out there an hour and twenty minutes and was 30 minutes late for work. I had to keep stopping and just breathe while I gave myself pep talks. I wasn’t sure that I had it in me to do what needed to be done. Somehow I managed.  I totally get how people have heart attacks shoveling snow, this snow was a bitch. Do you remember my driveway?IMG_0680IMG_0681

It certainly didn’t look this pretty this morning!  We shoveled a row on the outsides and there was still the mound on the inside.  I backed my car up….so far so good and the boy is laughing.  I roll down the window and asked “what’s so funny?”  He said “your car sounds just like one of those little hotwheels.”  I rolled my eyes and held my breath as I drove forward.  I just kept it at a steady speed and hoped that nobody was coming from the right as I managed to pull out to the left on my first try.   I raised my right hand in a little fist pump as I imagined cheers coming from my driveway. “yes, she made it out!” 

The roads were whoa!  Really bad and yet somehow I chugged along and didn’t have any problems.  I won’t worry too much when the girl takes this car over, it did a great job today. When I got to a main road, which happens to be the one I work on, they only had one lane cleared on each side.  I was okay until I went to pull into the parking lot at work, the entrance was horrible. I closed my eyes and gunned it and made it through.

I think it took me a whole hour to get my nerves under control. That was a lot of  hard work before my first cup of coffee. Work wasn’t bad at all, there were many cancellations. I was surprised at how fast the day went without patients. It wasn’t a surprise that we left on time today.

The roads were 100% better at five o’clock and I had no issues on the drive home. I was very disappointed when I pulled into the driveway. The boy didn’t go back out and clean anything up before he went to work at five.  He had all day?!  The girl and I went out and cleaned everything up. I know that I could get out but I want to make it as easy as possible for her friend who picks her up in the morning. It’s her first winter and I know my driveway is intimidating.  I really hope that I never have to shovel this beast again.  The girl may have to roll me out of bed in the morning, I’m sore already…..that is why we consider snow a four letter word…….Zia

About dragonflyzia

I am just a woman finally accepting that I was never meant to be in the box. I don't fit into any stereotypes, please don't try and label me, that doesn't work either. I am embracing my uniqueness in ways that are new and challenging to me, so that I may continue to grow and never stop learning.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Dreaded Four Letter Word….

  1. shelli says:

    Ha! I remember a couple of years ago (my hair much longer and almost black) my son saw a picture of Alice Cooper on TV and told my husband that I look just like Alice! I’m guessing I also went to bed with make-up left on and you know what morning make up looks like. What a hoot!

  2. Victo Dolore says:

    Oh, I am jealous of your snow!!!!

Please feel free to share your thoughts..........

