Sweet Child of Mine

I started my morning in the kitchen. I had a new recipe for Guinness Stew so while the girl was in the bathroom getting ready for school, I was prepping the meat for the crock pot. I was on my last batch of flour drenched meat when the girl said “that’s a pretty big task to take on before you have had your coffee?” She paused for a second and followed with “is Guinness a fancy bird like quail?” I chuckled over that one all day long. I am pretty sure she was thinking that I said “guinea”, the little birds that eat ticks.

It has been a calm few days which is surprising considering the full moon last night.  I did have a hair appointment after work today and I was feeling all pms-ed, and bloated, and middle aged, and frumpy. Big mistake! Well, maybe it is?

First it never looks like the picture, especially with my fine thin hair.  I was thinking about how upset I was when my mom cut her hair when she was my age. I felt like she was cutting her youth away. My mom had full thick hair, nothing like mine and I couldn’t understand why she did it. Here I am chopping it off because I felt like I was wearing a dead mop head. My cut isn’t as short as my mom’s was but it’s short for me.

When you are raised by a strong, brutally honest mother….that is what you become. I as well as my family have accepted my fate in that area and now I have created the next generation.  I walked in the door and her first words were “I am not crazy about that stew, or your hair for that matter.”  So I played with it for a little while and said “what do you think now?” She tilts her head and says “I am seeing crazy cat lady with twenty cats.” I told her “it’s supposed to be messy” she insisted I just looked crazy.  If I can I will try and get someone to take a picture tomorrow so you can get the full visual.  I needed all of the layers but the length is out of my comfort zone.  I need to spend more time outside of my comfort zone. That is what I keep telling myself…..Zia

About dragonflyzia

I am just a woman finally accepting that I was never meant to be in the box. I don't fit into any stereotypes, please don't try and label me, that doesn't work either. I am embracing my uniqueness in ways that are new and challenging to me, so that I may continue to grow and never stop learning.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sweet Child of Mine

  1. Saw the title and I thought it was going to be about Guns n Roses. Still good post. Hope the rest of your week goes well.

Please feel free to share your thoughts..........

