Reading Frenzy

I came so close….I read about 300 pages last night but didn’t finish the book in time for book club. I had read a little before and a little at lunch today and I will finish it before I go to bed. This book was a great pick, I really enjoyed it.  The diary part of the story was set in the Jacobite period and that just makes me more excited for Outlander tomorrow.  If you ever have a chance to read A Desperate Fortune by Susanna Kearsley you should take it, you won’t be disappointed.

Book club was fun tonight, we laughed a lot. We really didn’t stay on topic with the book but it was discussed between miscellaneous stories and laughter.  SB brought me a butter bell? I have to Google it to see how it works but I was complaining about the softness of my real butter even at room temperature and this is her solution.  Today was a good day all the way around.

Yesterday however….. this one is sort of funny.  Wednesday we were talking about rude patients and for the life of me I couldn’t remember the name of the scary granny. I tried explaining her but nobody was remembering, it was frustrating.  I remember the first time I met this lady, she came to my window with questions. She had a soft voice and delicate features. She looked like your typical sweet old lady with her china blue eyes and her freshly salon rolled hair. There is a demon lurking inside this woman, I can’t tell you how many times I physically backed my chair up when she came to my window. I am really bad at concealing my emotions. Anyhoo, I received a call from an insurance company questioning a bill for one of their members, when they said her name I almost yelled “that’s it, that’s her name!”  Speak of the demon and she will appear…..

I was on the phone with a patient who was ordering contacts when I glanced up and saw her face. I honestly don’t know what my expression was, I was so surprised. I know I backed my chair up a little.  There she was all tiny and shaking with anger, she said “it’s good thing that I got this after I buried my brother today.” I was at a loss so I went with “I’m so sorry for your loss.” She glared at me and lifted her hands and said “that’s okay he was a son of a bitch.”   She complained some more while she wrote out her check, something about her fica score and how her husband never paid a bill and he was the one with the credit score but it didn’t matter…he was dead. Whoa!  This was all over $35.00. It’s my fault I spoke her name, all of the other girls upon seeing her remembered and cringed. I don’t ever want to be the person that people cringe over.

I am working two parties tomorrow a baptism and a 1st communion plus we are supposed to get a ton of snow overnight, should make for an interesting weekend….Zia

 

 

 

 

Email sent from: "Dundas, Deborah"  ddundas@thestar.ca  Subject: FW: Susanna Kearsley Date: 12 June, 2015 3:54:13 PM EDT susannah kearsley a desperate fortuneEmail sent from: Silva, Rita [mailto:rita.silva@simonandschuster.ca] Sent: Friday, April 17, 2015 8:55 AM To: Dundas, Deborah Cc: Robert Wiersema (rjwiersema@gmail.com) Subject: RE: Susanna Kearsley Hi Deborah and Robert, Please find the author photo and cover image attached. I hope you both have a great weekend! Thanks,__Rita Rita Silva, Publicist __Simon & Schuster Canada__166 King Street East, Suite 300, Toronto, ON M5A 1J3__PH: 647.427.6992 FX: 647.430.9446__www.simonandschuster.ca  New releases, author updates, videos and more...Email sent from: Robert Wiersema [mailto:rjwiersema@gmail.com] __Sent: Thursday, April 16, 2015 3:00 PM__To: Silva, Rita__Subject: Susanna Kearsley Hey Rita - Hope you're well. Could you please send jpg jacket and author images for A Desperate Fortune to Deb Dundas at the Star? Thanks! R. If you would prefer not to receive electronic messages from us, please reply to this email with UNSUBSCRIBE in the subject line.

About dragonflyzia

I am just a woman finally accepting that I was never meant to be in the box. I don't fit into any stereotypes, please don't try and label me, that doesn't work either. I am embracing my uniqueness in ways that are new and challenging to me, so that I may continue to grow and never stop learning.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Reading Frenzy

  1. WHEW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Please feel free to share your thoughts..........

