On A Lighter Note

The conversation this morning on the way to drop off the girl. “oh there is only one turkey vulture today.” Me “I wonder where his fourteen friends are?”  “Can you have a turkey vulture as a pet?” Me “No, I’m pretty sure you can’t.” “Why not? They communicate in grunts and hisses, just like we do.” Me snickering “really, that’s how we communicate?” “Yeah, mostly. Do you think it would eat the dog?” Me “No I think the dog is a little big.” “I bet it could live off of the dog for a month.” Me trying to change the subject “Are the regular turkeys out in that pasture?”  “Yes they are way out there. Hey you can have a turkey as a pet, why not a turkey vulture?”  Me “let it go kid, let it go.”

A few days ago when we drove past this same spot they were at least fifteen if not more of those turkey vultures in the trees. The next day they were in the trees and on the very expensive multi car garage and out on some barn like structure when the girl asked me “How do you summon turkey vultures?” I just glanced over at her “what are you talking about?” ” Never mind mom, I will just google it.” Silence. “Well?”  “Google let me down, there was this one thing about a guy but I didn’t read it, I don’t know the answer.” Only my kid, I swear. 

That was actually the highlight of the day, the rest was just the same old thing. Work last night wasn’t bad at all. I was super tired by the time 9pm rolled around but the parties themselves were fairly easy. One of the parties was for a state college. There were supposed to be forty people but only half of that showed. I got paid the same so that was a bonus for me.  It’s been a really long time since I encountered the educated snob. You know the kind. He felt so superior….why?  Is It because he has a little piece of paper that says he spent a lot of money for his education? He is a college recruiter not a rocket scientist.  This one happened to be overweight and reminded me of Otho from Beetlejuice with lighter hair. I forgot what that feels like, it’s been a long time since I felt like someone was looking down on me.  He was trying to be nice and always made sure to use my name every time he addressed me but he reeked of holier than thou.  It makes me feel bad for all of the other locations that he visits. This is my Saturday night job…yes I realize that yesterday was Wednesday but you know what I mean. There are a lot of counties in Ohio, what if the place before or the place after has somebody who is more sensitive waiting on him?  My mom felt like this a lot because of my fathers family. This is why Charlie is a waitress, for my mom.

Speaking of Charlie, now that the writing room is mostly cleaned up I brought out my story board. It is somewhere that I will see it everyday and that helps me. It needs revised though, I have added a few more characters and there are two that aren’t set in stone and don’t need to be on the board. I am still not writing regularly but I do work with the characters in my head everyday.

On a more serious note…..Is it just me or did Prince dying hit everyone else hard too? He was very talented, over the top creative and has a few songs that I even know the words and can sing a long…loudly and badly but along with nonetheless. I liked some of his music but I was not a huge fan. Yet somehow, his passing has had an effect. I am experiencing a huge feeling of loss, maybe it’s just the moon…..Zia

About dragonflyzia

I am just a woman finally accepting that I was never meant to be in the box. I don't fit into any stereotypes, please don't try and label me, that doesn't work either. I am embracing my uniqueness in ways that are new and challenging to me, so that I may continue to grow and never stop learning.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to On A Lighter Note

  1. Shelli Phelps says:

    Prince passing has been really hard. I know it’s not like we are BFF’s, but a big piece of my life. So not the moon to blame (this time) just an honestly sad situation! 😦

  2. Huge loss to the music world, we are losing to many great artists this year.

Please feel free to share your thoughts..........

