Daughter Days

It’s been quite eventful around here the past couple of days.  I went to school with the girl on Friday for her National Technical Honor Society ceremony.  I felt extra proud all day long. I also felt extra frumpy when I saw the picture of us together, I really need to get a handle on this. I have never felt frumpy like this ever, even after I had the kids and had baby weight. Something needs to give there.FullSizeRender(3)

We knew we would be pressed for time the rest of the weekend so we tried to get some running around done Friday night. We also surprised the boy by picking Perkins to eat dinner. Things have changed quite a bit since I worked there more than 18 years ago. Nobody knows how to pre bus anymore. I thought it was just the kids I work with on Saturday nights, but it’s everywhere. They are lucky I’m not the one telling them what to do. Oh and they were placing trays full of food right on empty tables?  There are these things called tray jacks?  I know they exist because I use them….okay….I’m going to stop. This is not my world and hasn’t been since I was six months pregnant with the girl.  I just dabble on Saturday nights, I must be the only one who notices.

Saturday morning we shivered at a dog fashion show for one of the girls peeps from school. It cut into my wine taste time a little but it was important to her.  Then I worked so my Saturday was super fast.

Today the girl and I volunteered for Habitat because a dear friend is getting a house. We really didn’t do much. We basically picked up the siding, carried it to be cut and measured, and then handed up to the guys/gals on the scaffolding. There was a beautiful ceremony about two hours after we arrived that had me in tears twice.  We ended up helping with the food after the ceremony, combining and cleaning up.  The girl whined almost the whole time…IMG_3447

So I don’t have any problem saying that this picture screams Village People.  If I don’t drag her then how will she learn?

We came home and the first thing we did was change out of our jeans. Sadly we both agreed that the was the hardest part of the day, wearing jeans. It really is sad and PT warned me about wearing scrubs everyday. …. We ran to the grocery store and I made dinner and cleaned. I worked on the one dresser in my bedroom, the one that all of the miscellaneous stuff ended up on.  It never had any sense of order since we moved so hopefully this arrangement will stick.

That was the quick rewind of my weekend. I know I have said it before but I have to stop posting when I have nothing left, this girl is done….Zia

About dragonflyzia

I am just a woman finally accepting that I was never meant to be in the box. I don't fit into any stereotypes, please don't try and label me, that doesn't work either. I am embracing my uniqueness in ways that are new and challenging to me, so that I may continue to grow and never stop learning.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Daughter Days

  1. YOU CAN NOT STOP POSTING – WE ALL WOULD BE LEFT WONDERING – LOVER YOU

Please feel free to share your thoughts..........

