Knock on Wood

I am rapping my fist on the top of my noggin as I type. That wasn’t as bad as I thought it would be. Tonight was the first night out in our search for a prom dress. We agreed that we would only stop at one store each day since the girl has no tolerance for shopping and we both end up snapping at each other. One of the doctors at work suggested that we try JC Penney’s so that was where we started. The girl tried on a variety of dresses and settled on a simple black dress. That was what she stated that she wanted from the beginning, I guess we were lucky. It was on sale and there was a coupon so the dress itself only cost $61 and some change. We will need to get a new bra to go with it and that store is not my first choice for those. We tried since we were there but nothing looked right.  I just noticed that we didn’t have the lace straight on the back, I better double check and make sure it’s not torn.FullSizeRender(5)FullSizeRender(4)

We looked at shoes but she didn’t like any of them so she has a pair from Blondie that she is going to wear around the house for a day or two to see how they feel. I forgot all about those shoes.  Since her prom is a masquerade we went to Pier 1 to get a mask. I was lucky again as they were on sale so the mask ran around $24.00.IMG_3453

I think we did very well for our first time out. I am not looking forward to carting that dress around while we bra shop, but I loathe returning things. She will need a little shawl or jacket because I know she is too self conscious to wear it as is.  Thank goodness I have a kid who wants to cover everything.

So in between typing and looking at this dress, I am finding more flaws.FullSizeRender(6)

See how the pleats look like they are coming out?  When it’s stretched out and on my kid you can’t notice it. She likes it and she is only going to wear it once….maybe I’ll call tomorrow to see if they can get another one in her size?  If not I guess this is what she will wear, she has decided on this one.  It probably has more to do with not wanting to try on another dress than having her heart set on it. “No, no mom, I like this one” was the response when I pointed out some of the flaws. “I’m gonna have something on over it anyway” was the other excuse.  It’s one night and not really worth the battle in my book.

I guess today was really Daughter Days the sequel……Zia

About dragonflyzia

I am just a woman finally accepting that I was never meant to be in the box. I don't fit into any stereotypes, please don't try and label me, that doesn't work either. I am embracing my uniqueness in ways that are new and challenging to me, so that I may continue to grow and never stop learning.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Knock on Wood

  1. Victo Dolore says:

    That is a lovely dress!

  2. she will have FUN! AND LOOK PRETTY

Please feel free to share your thoughts..........

