Alli-ga-tor

Most of the afternoon I have had Kermit the frog’s voice in my head saying alli-ga-tor. I tried to find a clip on Youtube of just that part of The Muppet Movie but sadly I could not. Those of you who had their childhood in the seventies will know what I am referring to, so I will have to settle for a photo of a random alligator.IMG_3458

The girl who sits to my left can be pretty harsh at times and either I am getting used to her or she is letting up some. One thing that hasn’t changed is that she thinks I ask too many questions. Sometimes she is right, I ask  one innocent question and the patient goes on and on. It drives her crazy. In most cases I like to hear the story,occasionally I regret it.

Today, however….I am so glad I did. Force of Nature Girl helped keep it going by jumping in with a question here and there, let’s just say I had a pocketful of purse notes.  (purse notes are sticky notes that I write things down on so I don’t forget later and toss them in my purse)

This couple came to my window after the husband picked out his post cataract glasses. I was just making small talk as I was putting the charges in the computer. It started with a simple comment about his accent that I couldn’t place. It turns out that he has lived in many places, Austria , Germany, and the Czech Republic I think, I’m not about that last one. He speaks seven languages and comes from a long line of woodworkers. His wife was from Hungary but she definitely had a southern twang to her voice.  She mentioned that her favorite thing to do was to go fishing in the bayou. I very innocently asked “do you see many alligators?”

Oh boy…. I loved every minute of this but the girl next to me, not so much. It turns out that this woman who is in her sixties, maybe even seventies encountered many alligators. The story she chose to share was about and eight foot alligator that she came across. He opened his jaws wide and the only thing she had was an ax,  she shoved that ax down his throat in just the right place so when he closed his jaws he died instantly. She dragged him out back, skinned him, and sold his hide for $700.00.  In my head I was thinking” is this really happening? it was awesome.”

Force of Nature Girl starts in with questions “wow so those Swamp People really are a thing?” “$700.00, I would skin an alligator for $700.00.”  They went back and forth for a little longer when the man said to me. “I dated Italian women, the ones with all of the stylish clothes, perfect makeup, and great shoes but that wasn’t me. My (can’t remember her name) is so down to earth and that’s what I wanted” I am assuming that Italian is one of the languages that he speaks, he made it sound like those women were in Italy.

The woman also told me how she has a special bond with animals and tends to know what they need. She doesn’t care much for people but she understands animals. At this point the husband realized that they need to move on. He waited for a pause in her animal story and touched the back of her arm in such a sweet loving way, nudging her to say goodbye.

It truly was the best part of my day. This woman with her curly mullet style hair do, who never wears a stitch of make up, who could have possibly descended from the great Amazon tribe, had me completely entranced. The sweet stocky shorter European man clearly adored her…these are the people that I live for. Can you imagine the stories I might have heard if I had the opportunity to but this woman a drink?

The girl next to me said “when are you going to learn to not ask questions?” I hope that my answer will always be “never.”

The girl was in need of a dry erase board for her room so I stopped at Michael’s on the way home. I used my 40% off coupon on her $19.99 dry erase board and bought myself a new story board. I also bought some sticky back Velcro circles so I can remove and add to my notes. That is my big plan for the rest of the night.  I have new characters to add before I lose that feeling….I better get on that ……Zia

About dragonflyzia

I am just a woman finally accepting that I was never meant to be in the box. I don't fit into any stereotypes, please don't try and label me, that doesn't work either. I am embracing my uniqueness in ways that are new and challenging to me, so that I may continue to grow and never stop learning.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Alli-ga-tor

  1. Ask questions, it’s how we learn. Ignore her.

Please feel free to share your thoughts..........

