Harder Than I Thought

The girl is pretty easy going and I know that I am always singing her praises, but this prom thing……I am just happy that we both survived. Every time I said, let’s try this on? Did you walk around in those shoes? How do you want to do your make up? Etc….etc.  “It’s fine mom….we don’t need to buy that, this works just fine”….The day comes. She is nervous and snappy and I am uncertain and snappy, it’s a miracle we both survived. Notice how I keep using the word survived?

The clock is ticking and we are running about ten minutes behind. I know I am pushing her, but we are late.  I fly like a bat out of hell to the park and when we exit the car the girl rips the bottom off of the shoes that Blondie gave her.IMG_3537

Oh and she broke a fake nail as well.  The one kid said to her “you just get here and already things are happening?”  I am so glad I made her bring flip flops, I knew she wouldn’t wear those shoes all night but this? Who does this happen to?  Oh no….I just realized another thing that the girl inherited from me…yikes!

In the end all the kids seemed happy and ready to make memories. I can’t wait to get the play by play when she gets home.FullSizeRender(12)IMG_3562

There was one boy who was going with the three girls, all of them were going as friends. His mother and grandmother made these sweet corsages for all of the girls, and the ring that the girl is wearing was my moms.

I was so stressed from the running at the end, it took me a while to calm down. RD stopped over for some wine and cheese for her birthday and I was still stressed when she got here. I don’t know why I get like that? Everything was over at this point? Maybe because it was my kid who ripped the bottom off of her shoe exiting the car as soon as we got there?

It’s difficult to dress a child who doesn’t dress up, and even harder to apply make up to a face that doesn’t wear it. I am so grateful that she stepped up to the plate and put on her own mascara.  I was worried I was going to poke her in the eye, at least I work in the right place if that was to happen. Thankfully it didn’t.  I hope she is having the time of her life right now…..

Nothing much has been going on over here. I came home Thursday after work and sat down and started watching Grace and Frankie,I am four or five episodes in. It’s hard to find a nice 30 minute show that is quality, I like this one.

One of the girls from work went with me to Chiles on Thursday were they had $5.00 El Presidentes. I love those, we only had one since we were driving. She was the one who told me about Grace and Frankie.FullSizeRender(10)

That and wine taste were my only social outings this week. That’s one more than usual. 🙂   My story was swirling pretty strong in my head this morning, I just need to get it on paper before I lose it.  I swear morning is my best time for the flowing of the story……Zia

PS. Happy Mothers Day to all of the moms tomorrow. I have to work so I am not sure if I will make it here or not?

About dragonflyzia

I am just a woman finally accepting that I was never meant to be in the box. I don't fit into any stereotypes, please don't try and label me, that doesn't work either. I am embracing my uniqueness in ways that are new and challenging to me, so that I may continue to grow and never stop learning.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Harder Than I Thought

  1. Victo Dolore says:

    Happy Mother’s Day to you, too!

  2. Hope you are having a nice Mother’s Day despite having to work. Happy Mother’s Day!

Please feel free to share your thoughts..........

