Fish Out of Water

IMG_3609

Whew, what a day!  The front desk girl at one of our satellite offices called off and nobody wanted to go. I knew that I wasn’t taking my car on that trip but I volunteered to meet the optician at a local grocery store, so I went.  My office manager is on vacation this week and our hive doesn’t behave well without it’s queen. I may have been out of my natural habitat but it was quiet. Even though I didn’t get home until 6:30, I still think that I got the better half of this deal.

I was surprised at how cute this office was. Yes it’s small but it’s clean and it wasn’t in a bad neighborhood. It wasn’t at all as the other girls described it.  The doctor was very nice and the patients were patient…since I didn’t know where anything was. I have met the tech before and a very long time ago I worked with the optician at the lab. Some of the other girls think he is creepy. Maybe it’s because I have known him for so long that I don’t see that?  Oh well, it was a nice quiet break for me.

Meanwhile…..at the mothership…….it was chaos. Okay, it really is chaos everyday but today there were attitudes flying everywhere on top of the chaos. It’s too complicated to explain but when our OD gets upset, it’s bad.  It bothers me that the techs in the back don’t give her the same respect as our big boss because she is an OD, not a MD. That woman busts her butt everyday and doesn’t deserve the attitudes she gets sometimes. She doesn’t even get a break when she gets home. Her adorable three year keeps her on the run at home, and if that’s not enough she will run an occasional marathon.  She is one of the nicest people I have ever met and her patience knows no limits.  I am glad I decided to take a field trip today.

On my way home I turned right at a red light and noticed that my car was all of a sudden really loud.  I made it home and looked under the car. Everything was still attached but the muffler was at a funny angle. I was on the phone with one cousin who made me an appointment with his cousin from his other side of the family and his brother came over and reinforced the position of my muffler with a coat hanger. My car is really loud now, you can hear me coming a mile away. It’s so embarrassing.  It’s for one day, I can handle that…right?

It was quite the day today……Zia

About dragonflyzia

I am just a woman finally accepting that I was never meant to be in the box. I don't fit into any stereotypes, please don't try and label me, that doesn't work either. I am embracing my uniqueness in ways that are new and challenging to me, so that I may continue to grow and never stop learning.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please feel free to share your thoughts..........

