It Always Rains

It’s raining, it’s pouring, the old man is snoring. Of course he’s snoring, it’s just another of his annoying traits. She loathed this man laying next to her and yet she was still here, stuck…..like a trapped animal. She tossed and turned as the rain pelted the roof in waves and the wind howled. Sadly all she could focus on was the snoring and with every rumble, seething rage rose up inside her. Mostly she was angry with herself.

How dare she let herself get cornered like this?  She is much smarter than that, or so she thought. She can’t control this situation, she can’t get away. The fact that she once loved him, made her question everything she thought she knew. There must be something wrong with her she convinced herself. This train of thought led to different scenarios of how she could escape, playing in her mind like a movie reel.  It felt like forever before she fell back asleep.

She grumbled when her alarm started to chime. She had a very hard time reaching over to hit snooze with the sleeping dead weight on top of her. His one leg was wrapped over her hip tucking her legs back and his arm laid across her shoulders almost pinning her to the mattress. No wonder her hip always bothered her. “mmm you should call off work and stay here with me today.” he said as he nuzzled his face in the crook of her neck. “Nope, can’t afford to call off, you know that.” was her reply. In her head she was thinking “one of us has to work, asshole.” His grip around her tightened as he tried to persuade her. She wiggled her way loose and practically jumped out of bed.  There would be no snooze button today.

She carefully applied her makeup and there was not a hair out of place. She took care in choosing her outfit even though her coworkers teased her about always dressing so nice when everyone else was in sweatpants and ratty jeans. This was the mask that she chose. It helped distract people and keep them at arms length. Her mask made it easier to pretend. She was becoming a master at faking life. There wasn’t much of a choice if she wasn’t going to believe in herself.

She buttoned up her raincoat and headed out the door. It was such a depressing sight. Everything was heavy with rain and it was still coming down. There was mud and puddles and the grayest sky she ever saw. Why is she still in this town where it’s always raining?  She asks herself that same question every day and every day she pretends that it’s not always raining…..

FullSizeRender(17)

Since I haven’t had much to report lately, I decided to try something new. I am never going to get better if I don’t practice. I found this on Pinterest and made a new wall entitled prompts. This way when I don’t have anything to say I can still write. It was hard to pick one and just start writing. When I took the short story workshop and we were given prompts I thought about it for a few days before I dug in.  Like I said this is practice. I have been off my game all week….dingy even. It’s been rough and I am glad this week is over.  This three day weekend has been a long time coming…….Zia

 

 

 

About dragonflyzia

I am just a woman finally accepting that I was never meant to be in the box. I don't fit into any stereotypes, please don't try and label me, that doesn't work either. I am embracing my uniqueness in ways that are new and challenging to me, so that I may continue to grow and never stop learning.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to It Always Rains

  1. becky.vignon says:

    I love it!

    Sent from my Verizon Wireless 4G LTE smartphone

  2. whew!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! yes you could write a book

  3. I enjoyed this. Very good!

Please feel free to share your thoughts..........

