Last Minute Girl

The queen of procrastination strikes again…..I  waited until yesterday around noon to try and find something to wear to my boss’s picnic. I seriously kept staring at the clothes like they might miraculously look better or be available in my size. I finally took a break from JC Penneys (where I had a coupon) and stopped at Christopher and Banks. Thankfully the nice lady who remembers me from when I used to frequent the shop was working. She had a coupon that brought this top down from $49.99 to $29.99. $30.00 was my ideal budget and I didn’t find pants yet? This is totally me though…IMG_3835

I went back to JC Penney’s and settled for these pants, which were on sale for $14.99 plus I had a 10 off of 25 coupon.IMG_3825

I thought it looked cute, the girl said they were old lady pants.  I wore the shirt again today with a denim skirt. I will wear the heck out of it the rest of the summer for sure.

Once I found something to wear I had to put the finishing touches on what I was making for my boss. I could have brought a bottle of wine like most did, but that wouldn’t be me.

I started here….IMG_3748

Thought I was done here, until I looked at the picture and saw that it needed more……IMG_3827

I added some black to soften up the edges…..IMG_3829IMG_3830

I thought it came out pretty nice until I saw his house. I’m sure he appreciated the gesture.

It was a very nice party, the food was okay, even though it was cooked by my creepy leprechaun ex-neighbor. He was on his way to say something to me when someone sidetracked him. I was prepared for it and grateful that I didn’t have to deal with him.  The girl had fun too. It was nice to meet the families of the people I work with everyday. It was also nice to socialize a little. We are way too busy at work to socialize. There was a really nice fire pit where kids and adults could roast marshmallows and make s’mores. The night ended with a grand firework display from the country club down the road. We had a perfect view.

This morning was spent cooking things to take to my brother’s. Cherry turnovers, cherry ricotta bruschetta, and cherry arugula feta cheese wraps with a balsamic glaze. My mission was complete, there are no more cherries in my refrigerator.  That has been my new Pinterest kick. Find some fresh fruit or vegetable on sale and make it half a dozen ways. Canning or freezing when possible. It really bothers me that in the winter our only option of fresh vegis or fruit are from Mexico.  This year I am trying my best to preserve what I can. ….when I can..ha! Sorry it was funny in my head.

It seemed we weren’t the only ones who weren’t feeling it today. My cousins left before we did and my aunt and uncle left right after. We were home by 4:30. I was able to meet with a friend who is family through her daughters marriage. She had wanted to see where I was and wanted to offer me advice since she has a home based business. Which still sounds weird to me.  I like to share the things I make and if I can make a little money doing it, that’s a bonus. Who the heck knows where this will lead? I have been playing around making bath salts, etc since 1997….I was bound to get good at it.  I like making my Mad Concoctions, it’s not like work at all. For now anyway.

I can’t believe the weekend is over. Tomorrow is Tuesday and that will confuse me all week. I just realized that I once again missed Front Range Radio, this is two Sunday’s in a row. Sorry Tim, next week there is nothing going on….I swear.

I hope everyone had a fun safe holiday, have a great week……Zia

 

About dragonflyzia

I am just a woman finally accepting that I was never meant to be in the box. I don't fit into any stereotypes, please don't try and label me, that doesn't work either. I am embracing my uniqueness in ways that are new and challenging to me, so that I may continue to grow and never stop learning.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Last Minute Girl

  1. I missed the show this week also. It was a repeat so I could attend fireworks at Ft Carson army base. Live show next week. Thank you for the thoughts. Hope your short week goes by fast.

  2. LOL. I missed the show also. It was a repeat so I could attend the fireworks show at Ft Carson army base. Thanks for thinking of the show it is appreciated. Hope you have a great short week.

Please feel free to share your thoughts..........

