Over “Courted”

Whew, what a Monday! Once I dragged myself out of bed and started getting ready, I should have known how challenging today would be. I couldn’t get my hair to cooperate at all, so dead fish hair it was. I stepped outside just as it was starting to rain and five minutes into my drive it was monsooning. I put a lot of faith in the car in front of me because I could see him better than the road. I made it to work unscathed but it was a rough drive in.

Work went smoothly but the morning lasted about two years, the afternoon was much better. We only had one “day before the full moon” incident when some old man (late seventies?) told the pregnant girl checking people in to “f**k off! Yep that really happened.

I asked my brother to send me the lawsuit papers since I still didn’t receive mine and he sent a copy to an old email address of my aunts requesting her input. I contacted her and rectified that situation and now I have to learn to write in “blah, blah and blah” format. I knew there was a time limit so I didn’t want to mess around.  I also learned that I really can’t say (which I will anyway) that I don’t want my aunt kicked off of the farm but I am not giving up my rights to my mother’s share of the property. Especially if the will gets overturned. My mom told me two things about this scenario before she died “None of you are to go down there after Grandma dies, they will kill each other” and “I told my sister to make sure that you and your brother get my share when the time comes.”Last-will-and-testament-948x426

Here’s where my biggest struggle will be…..before I even get to the matter at hand, I feel I have to say my peace to the courts. In the back of my mind I must have known it would be something like this because when one of my aunts asked for my address I gave her my old one. I guess the Indiana courts don’t allow forwarding. Today when I printed out a copy of the lawsuit my name and address (old one) along with all of the others were all listed. I have worked really hard to not have my new address a matter of public record….first point. Second point….I have a cousin who I haven’t seen since he was a toddler, who is now in prison for shooting his father,  my uncle in cold blood……now has a copy of my address???? Thankfully it’s the old one. First of all he should have no claim on his dads property it should go to his brother and sister…..why is this happening?

Why can’t I seem to get away from the courts? I was voted most law abiding in the 8th grade and yet here I am. Divorce court, civil protection order court(I don’t remember what it’s really called),bankruptcy court, and now last will and testament court. My aunt (not from this crazy side of the family) who hasn’t practiced law in a really long time offered up some advice. I will write my response and it will be helpful to have someone who knows the language. I am happy to say that the things that I read into it that were not said are the same things she picked up on. Mine from my gut and her from understanding the language. Greed is an ugly thing……Zia

PS Happy Blogiversary to me!!  Can you believe it’s been four years? I’m not sure if I have any secrets left….you know everything about me.

About dragonflyzia

I am just a woman finally accepting that I was never meant to be in the box. I don't fit into any stereotypes, please don't try and label me, that doesn't work either. I am embracing my uniqueness in ways that are new and challenging to me, so that I may continue to grow and never stop learning.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Over “Courted”

  1. Victo Dolore says:

    Happy Blogiversary!!!! 🙂

  2. Happy Blogivesary, four years! You did better than me, I congratulate you on still blogging.

Please feel free to share your thoughts..........

