A Quiet Night

The kids are at their dads which means I don’t have to cook dinner or watch Game of Thrones or Teen Wolf tonight. Yet here I am…..up late as always. We have had a couple of productive days this week.

I woke up to this yesterday morning….IMG_3940

My mom bought this Marie Osmond doll for the girl when she was a baby. It was in her room for years but she doesn’t remember it. I found her the other day and took her out of the box. The girl thinks dolls are creepy so she snuck in my room in the middle of the night and placed the doll in a pace that I would see her first thing. It didn’t scare me but it did make me chuckle. I am sure that she laughed to herself for at least an hour after she did it…..silly girl.

Our Optometrist had a cancellation yesterday so I went home at lunch and grabbed the girl. I knew she would have time to kill so I had a project prepared. This was a win, win because it got the boy to clean out some of his t-shirts that he never wears. We have nine dogs in our family so I had the girl make nine Christmas presents for all of the dogs.IMG_3961

She did a good job and didn’t complain once. She did pick a pricey frame for her new pair of glasses, they are over $100.00 at cost! They did look really, really good on her though….IMG_3959

I called my old manager at the lab to see if he could get me a deal on the lenses, we will see. I’m not worried about it, I can make payments if he can’t. It’s worth a shot though.   I used to bring him soup once a week for years, so I know he will do his best.

I have had enough people point out the flaws in my pallet Christmas tree project that I have now abandoned. They were all correct. Too heavy, too hard to cut, too much to take on. Someone else showed me this project….so maybe?IMG_3960

I didn’t make it to the local Restore before it closed, maybe Saturday?  It would be much more manageable and still cute and festive.   My driftwood tree that I am making SB has turned into the money pit tree….I have been to Joanns everyday this week! Each bag of driftwood was 40% off but still……it was a lot of bags. I found the starfish for the top at Michaels today. I wasn’t sure of the size so I didn’t buy it, but I will tomorrow. I had wanted to drape netting around the tree but all I could find was dark.  So I went with a ribbon wrapped in rope….that’s still nautical? I guess we will see after I put the starfish on.IMG_3963

I also tried out the book page Christmas trees, and I’m not sure how i feel about them.  They still need a star and the dowel rod trimmed but you get the idea….IMG_3965

I found a shirt today that I had to have. I have been super good at not buying clothes for a long time but some days I get frustrated with the frumpy feeling. I stopped at a tent sale today and found a shirt that I passed over twice because the design was something I would have worn years ago. I’m not sure why I passed it over but I am so glad I went back and gave it another shot.  The minute I put it on I knew it was for me. Here is my question….why can’t companies make more flattering pieces of clothing like this instead of those clingy pieces that hide nothing. I can’t wait to have somewhere to go so I can wear this shirt!IMG_3962

I ended my night at a friends house. We had a nice chat and caught up on some things. I was not up to date on her stalker issues. She makes me nervous because she doesn’t take precautions. No weapons, no kick stands on the doors…..not even a cast iron skillet under the bed.  Maybe I’ll but her a baseball bat for Christmas…yikes!  I feel better when all of my peeps are safe and sound……Zia

About dragonflyzia

I am just a woman finally accepting that I was never meant to be in the box. I don't fit into any stereotypes, please don't try and label me, that doesn't work either. I am embracing my uniqueness in ways that are new and challenging to me, so that I may continue to grow and never stop learning.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Quiet Night

  1. Waking up to that doll would creep me out.

Please feel free to share your thoughts..........

