What’s in a Name?

Imagine my surprise this morning when I read that someone liked my untitled post. What?! I really am losing it, or is it the lack of sleep?  It happens to be the perfect segway for this next part.

The last two nights I have had some crazy dreams full of imagery. I have no idea what they mean….if anything, but they are weird, even for me. When I walked into the bathroom to take my shower this morning I heard a big swoosh of wings. I opened the blinds to see what kind of bird it was but there was nothing. It must have been a take off swoosh. It was probably a crow, I had one fly over my head at my cousins that was so low I could feel a breeze from the swoosh.  It’s almost always wings with me, isn’t it?

Friday night’s dream has faded some so it won’t be lengthy in the retelling. I was in the woods or forest, I have no idea where I was. This big red tail hawk flies by. Then I am on a horse and I am riding after that same hawk who is also on the saddle of a horse. I called out “Gordy” because his name was Gordon. Did you ever hear of a hawk named Gordon? Me either. That was crazy dream number one. When I first woke up I couldn’t remember if I called him Gordy or Gordo? I went with Gordy because I am pretty sure Buffy’s stuffed pig was named Gordo? I have no idea why I remember that.

Last night’s dream took me to somewhere flat and kind of dusty. Flat lands with sparse grass as far as I could see. I was trying to change into a pair of shorts in the back of the car while trying not to draw attention to myself. It wasn’t going well,  both legs kept trying to go in one leg of the shorts. There was a house or building next to the car and it had a flat roof and there was a puppy sniffing around the edge of the roof. I called to the girl “you better get your beast before she kills herself trying to jump off of that roof.” The girl was nowhere to be found or she was ignoring me. I remember referring to the dog in my head as a little escape artist and she did jump off of that roof. I couldn’t chase her because I was still struggling with those ridiculous shorts so I called her. She was a good pup and came right to the car where I scooped her up and passed her off to the girl who was suddenly reappeared.

In the next scene we are in a living room playing with the puppy. She had markings like a husky but I don’t think that’s what she was. She had a beautiful face. I called her Dakota and told the girl we would call her Kota for short. The girl said “I don’t like it, it’s a stupid name.” I said “well too bad, that’s her name.” That was the end of that dream.

That doesn’t sound like a name I would ever pick, we try to stick with literary names. It was pretty specific though. How is that for weird? Maybe I should rename this post “a horse with no name”?  It was the only animal that remained nameless.

I am going to do my best to take it slow and to try and mosey some today. I keep adding to my list so it’s going to be tough to maintain that speed …..Zia

About dragonflyzia

I am just a woman finally accepting that I was never meant to be in the box. I don't fit into any stereotypes, please don't try and label me, that doesn't work either. I am embracing my uniqueness in ways that are new and challenging to me, so that I may continue to grow and never stop learning.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please feel free to share your thoughts..........

