Is This a Joke?

So I get to work (second job) today ready to go. At this point all I know is there is four of us working and it’s for 125 people.  I get there and there are cookies everywhere…who has a wedding reception at noon on a Saturday?  Oh….It’s not just a reception…they are getting married here. I looked at the chef when he told me and said “are you kidding me? Geez weddings give me anxiety.” He just laughed and laughed.FullSizeRender(41)

Honestly, it wasn’t that bad. Maybe because it was in the restaurant? During the vows I walked away and hung out in the kitchen and the rest of the time I was at the bar. I am not much for bartending but everybody ordered things I could make today. Maybe it was the way they asked?  The other girl who sometimes jumped behind the bar with me and asked “what a screwdriver?” “It’s just vodka and orange juice, my ex husband used to drink that.” Now if the guy would have just said a vodka and orange juice there would have been no confusion. We aren’t bartenders. There is a giant rescued/salvaged bar in this place and not one of us are qualified to be bartenders. I think I did fairly well….I made us $132.00 which split four ways is $33.00.

The party itself paid well but I didn’t leave there until after eight. This manager kid doesn’t get it…..I am not a spring chicken! I can’t work ten hour days, which I did today. Epsom salts saved me when I got home. I think maybe I need to some hip openers…you know happy baby, goddess, and even the dreaded frog pose…something. I was struggling towards the end of this day. I will be able to bank some of today and that was worth it.

I am looking forward to tomorrow with SB. Normally we meet at some waffle place close to the old house, this time I asked to go closer to her house. We are trying a new place and I have no idea where I am going or what I am going to wear…..the weather is iffy tomorrow. I will find it and I will figure it out. It’s time to start new adventures.

The kids were on kitty socialization duty while I was at work. I realize that I don’t need a cat but the kids have been asking for a while. It’s time to test the girls claim on kitten whisperer. IMG_7212

I really liked the markings on this one and then I saw the black calico….the runt…the one who is the most scared. Yes, I think I like her the best. The kids are gone next week so I might work with that cat a little. She likes the quiet and she will get it with me. I requested five books from the library so that should keep me busy for a while.IMG_4168

When I first read Daughter of the Forest, I was completely entranced. I was sucked into that time and had to get my bearings when I put the book down. How many books have that power?  I loved these books, Sorcha and Red….I loved Red, he was one of a kind. Then there is Liadan and Bran in Son of Shadows and in Child of the Prophecy we go back to Sevenwaters. I didn’t realize that Juliet Marillier added books to this series. This is my next week folks….I just received the email from the library that the books are all in. I hope they talk about Finbar….not human, not swan but stuck between worlds. I loved that character!  I am hoping to escape this week into some quiet reading…..Zia

 

About dragonflyzia

I am just a woman finally accepting that I was never meant to be in the box. I don't fit into any stereotypes, please don't try and label me, that doesn't work either. I am embracing my uniqueness in ways that are new and challenging to me, so that I may continue to grow and never stop learning.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Is This a Joke?

  1. you are AMAZING – NOW A CAT – HOW WILL THE DOG LIKE THE CAT????????????? LOVER YOU

Please feel free to share your thoughts..........

