Tough Question

On the way to the winery last night we conversed on various topics, the one that stumped me was “What fictional man did you love most out of all of the books that you have read?”  My first thought was “I have to pick one?” Then I tried to name them and could only come up with four. I have thought about it on and off all day and it’s still just the four.

When I used to live next store to judgemental girl, the one who was married to the alcoholic gambler she used to feed me Nora Roberts books and there was another author she liked with football players…Texas Stars I think?  Romance books have never been my thing although I have liked more than one of the Nora Roberts books and trilogies. There isn’t a single man from these books that made my tiny list.

The obvious first is Jamie Fraser from Outlander by Diana Gabaldon…who doesn’t love that man? Now….if you just take the physical description, large man 6’4, dark blue eyes, and crazy curly red hair, it doesn’t seem like much. No offense to all of the large gingers out there. The more you read, the more you get to know him and fall in love with him. When they first cast Sam Heughan as Jamie I was skeptical…he is way too pretty to be my Jamie. While he is in character I forget all of that. When he is on t.v. or in a magazine I remember. Two seasons in and I can’t imagine anyone else playing the part, he has been true to the character. IMG_4259

Next would be Red or Hugh of Harrowfield as he was called before he met Sorcha, I loved him too. Another large red head with blue eyes….who knew?  Daughter of the Forest by Juliet Marillier is one of my favorite books. PT didn’t care for it, SB didn’t care for it, and it was hit or miss with some of the others. IMG_4257

The one girl that I used to work with in custom framing even got her sister the artist to read the series, although she leaned more towards Bran who was number three on my list. He does not have red hair but he won my heart while winning Liadan’s (Sorcha and Red’s daughter) in Son of Shadows.  She (the artist sister) started a pen and ink on her version of Bran and I can’t remember if she ever finished it.IMG_4258

Lastly there is Eric Northman from the Sookie Stackhouse books by Charlaine Harris. First I must say the HBO ruined this character for me…no offense to Alexander Skarsgard but he was no viking god. Eric was larger than life, blonde hair with blue eyes and I loved him in those books. The first book in the series I never read. I tried a dozen times but just couldn’t get into it. Everybody kept telling me how much I would like it so I picked up book two and blew through the series. In the books I was yelling at Sookie “why are you messing with that Alcide?” In the HBO version I was yelling “why aren’t you going after Alcide?” The show and the book are two different entities. I didn’t want Eric from t.v., I wanted Eric from the book. I’m just fickle that way.IMG_4260

That is the long answer from the question yesterday…I couldn’t stop thinking about it all day. For as many books that I have read I thought for sure there would be more. I even ran my finger over the books on my shelves, fondly remembering all of the characters. Sure there are other characters that I loved….but not in a book boyfriend kind of way.

It was a little rough getting going this morning but I did  it. I slept like a rock last night ….mostly. I did have one dream where I was watching a surveillance video of myself. It was weird and all I remember was trying to get a look at the back of my neck to see which tattoo it was….old or new. It really was weird. I know what it feels like to be watched and I haven’t felt it in a long time….just in this dream. I said weird, right?

I am off to take a long hot bath. Maybe a little water therapy will clear my head and help me sleep…..Zia

About dragonflyzia

I am just a woman finally accepting that I was never meant to be in the box. I don't fit into any stereotypes, please don't try and label me, that doesn't work either. I am embracing my uniqueness in ways that are new and challenging to me, so that I may continue to grow and never stop learning.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Tough Question

  1. I’m with you on the Eric / Alcide thing. The characters were just so off from the books.

Please feel free to share your thoughts..........

