Oh Boy…..Book Club Blues

My last few turns at book club I chose first time authors. The Sparrow Sisters bombed at my book club but we all agreed that it had potential, it just wasn’t finished.  The Readers of Broken Wheel Recommend was received much better and I think everyone enjoyed it. This time I not only picked a first time author but she is someone I know and will be there for the discussion.

I was just trying to be supportive, what did I get myself into? I really liked the three short stories that I read before she self published on Amazon. It’s basically a book of short monologues that bounce back and forth between tense. I was bored to tears….my book club is going to kill me.  I keep telling SB that she could be me and her response is always “Not with me as your beta!” (reader)

I still have to come up with questions….oh boy. I have to find a way to steer this book club bus in a positive conversation…oh boy. What if she can’t handle the constructive criticism?….oh boy. Maybe I will take SB’s advice and get her to talk about her process writing and self publishing? Did I mention that I was just trying to be supportive? Fingers crossed nobody cries tomorrow night….Zia

About dragonflyzia

I am just a woman finally accepting that I was never meant to be in the box. I don't fit into any stereotypes, please don't try and label me, that doesn't work either. I am embracing my uniqueness in ways that are new and challenging to me, so that I may continue to grow and never stop learning.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Oh Boy…..Book Club Blues

  1. Victo Dolore says:

    Oh, my. That sounds scary….

Please feel free to share your thoughts..........

