A Pinch of This and a Dash of That

Today after I fill you in on book club I am going to mention some of the little things that I keep forgetting to add. They are random so please keep that in mind as I bounce all over the place.

Book club went well….I think. The three of us who show up every time were there and the three who show up whenever it strikes their fancy were not. I felt bad for the author that there were only three of us. Hopefully she walked away with some positive feedback. I was surprised that she wasn’t interested in any of the errors. I think she thought we were referring to spelling and punctuation. SB’s big thing was that she said sedimentary when she meant to say sedentary. Me personally, I would want to know. I also would have someone that I trusted proofread it for me. I will always need someone to fix my punctuation and I would want to know if I used the wrong word. We did manage to have a nice discussion. Oh well, I warned her that we were laid back and not very formal.

We had a patient today that was 100 years old and what great lady. She was completely with it, I would have never guessed she was that old. She was so cute in her little cami under her matching button down plaid shirt. She had an arm full of bangles and was wearing a trendy necklace. I asked her what her secret to great skin was and she said Nivea. Her daughter said that she never remembers a time when her mother didn’t use it. So there it is….the secret to soft supple skin at 100 is Nivea.img_4308

Here is one of those random things that I keep forgetting to tell you. Force of Nature Girl and her husband and kids were talking about cremation. I know it sounds morbid but it came up after a discussion about a junior high student who committed suicide. Her oldest boy said….and I love this….that when he dies he wants his ashes mixed with ink so someone can write his story. Her youngest said that he wants his ashes poured over the lake so the fish can eat him. Apples and oranges.

Since we are taking abut Force of Nature Girl…yesterday my nose was acting up and all I could smell was onions and sulfur. The sulfur was only for a little while in one area and the onions were there all day. I kept thinking maybe my homemade deodorant had failed so I went and put some emergency store bought on. I haven’t eaten onions lately so it was weird. So she says to me “I have two boys give me that pit. It’s okay just stick it right in my face, I can take it.”  I gave her the “I really don’t want to do this but okay” face and said raised my arm. She said “you don’t smell, only faintly of baby powder. ” I turn around and there is a patient standing at my window. How come I always get busted doing the strange things? He was there for optical, he needed to pick up his glasses, he didn’t need to stop at my window. Only me, I swear.

I am working a party at 11:30 tomorrow morning and I told the kid manager to make sure that he had me covered for Saturday night. He can’t seem to remember that I am not a spring chicken. It will be different having a Saturday night off, maybe I will get some reading time in.

I am hoping to get my brother to take me to the old house one day this weekend. My cousin became too hectic when his house closed and they had 15 days to move everything.  My other cousin is on vacation so that leaves my brother. My realtor sent me a text that they are closing on the house on Tuesday. Finally! A cash sale from June is closing in September, crazy I know. More importantly….it will all be over. I will never have to go back to that house again. I will hopefully never see any of those people ever again. My past will finally be my past. You know me, I will hold my breath until it’s a done deal…..finger crossed…..Zia

About dragonflyzia

I am just a woman finally accepting that I was never meant to be in the box. I don't fit into any stereotypes, please don't try and label me, that doesn't work either. I am embracing my uniqueness in ways that are new and challenging to me, so that I may continue to grow and never stop learning.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please feel free to share your thoughts..........

