New Hope

img_4320

I went to visit my friend today. She has finally been moved from the out of town hospital to a local long term hospital that I can make be on my way home from work. With an extra turn right and then left with minimal backtracking it is on my way home. Nothing else matters today….thank you to everyone who sent out prayers to her at my request.

She probably is the strongest person that I know. It broke my heart to see all of the bruises on her arms and shoulders but it didn’t seem to phase her. I never went to visit anyone where I had to put on a yellow gown and wear gloves before but I will do whatever it takes.  She was sitting up and talking and I was able to hug her (in the most gentle way possible) and we talked. Her sister was there and she told me that she did read all of my letters to my friend and they lifted everybody’s spirits when they came. I thought that was sweet. My friend doesn’t remember all of them, her sister put them in a box for her so when she gets better she can read them. Her sister did say that she is still forgetting a lot but she is getting better every day. Today I was able to witness it for myself. She is such a miracle and I am lucky to call her friend.img_4319

All I wanted to do today was hang out in the kitchen and make stuff, but life got in the way. I did make some eggplant parmesan for my aunt who fell and pulled a muscle. Thank goodness she is getting better. My poor uncle…he is so lost. He loves her more than anything but she has always done everything. Imagine if you will, a couple in their mid sixties Skyping to get the laundry done. Bless his heart, he is really trying.

I made some soup and took some to my neighbor who is sick. How do I know she is sick? She is a stay at home mom of three boys so everything goes on Facebook. I make soup….it what I do, she didn’t feel well so I walked some over. She is very nice and the boys are adorable. The youngest…he is a spitfire. She has her hands full.

I was making croutons out of some loaves of bread before they became “science experiment” material when I had an idea. I bought two loves of pumpernickel bread when they were on sale and tossed them in the freezer. Maybe I would hollow them out for dip?  I wasn’t sure but it was a really good deal. Today I took out a loaf, defrosted it on the counter, cubed it to the best of my ability and put it all in a bowl. I mixed together the original recipe for chex mix, tossed the bread in it and put it in the oven. I can’t believe how awesome it turned out. I now have croutons that taste like those little pumpernickel chips they everyone picks out of the chex mix. Will I put it on a salad? Probably not but I know what my snack is this week. I just love it when “what if becomes I can’t believe that worked?”

The girl agreed to dinner with my dad so I was roped into that. We ended up at Perkins? I don’t want to go into another rant about service, track jacks, and pre bussing so I will skip that for today. I survived the dinner that’s what counts. Do you know what he bought the girl for her birthday? A Precalculus workbook. What teenager doesn’t want that for their birthday?  Clueless I tell you, the man is clueless.

It’s now late Sunday night, lunches are made, the kitchen is clean, and the last load of laundry is in the dryer. It feels like Friday was five minutes ago, before you know I will be hitting the snooze button…..Zia

About dragonflyzia

I am just a woman finally accepting that I was never meant to be in the box. I don't fit into any stereotypes, please don't try and label me, that doesn't work either. I am embracing my uniqueness in ways that are new and challenging to me, so that I may continue to grow and never stop learning.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please feel free to share your thoughts..........

