Sauce Day!

Today was the most relaxing day that I have had in a long time. The only list I had was what to bring with me to SB’s house. I was pulling out of my driveway when my phone rang. My phone hardly ever rings except when the Red Cross calls me….which is every day. Nobody ever answers so I don’t know how to say “hey! I had tattoo work in June, call me back next June.” That used to be the rule, I don’t know if it still holds true. If you are O negative they will hound you, trust me.

It was my cousin from Michigan who I rarely get to see asking me to meet her for breakfast. So I called SB and of course she was fine with it but when I told her that I was wearing yoga pants and my favorite coffee shop t-shirt she said “that I can’t help you with, you have to just own it.” I even wore my old tennis shoes with a hole wearing in the top….geez. I was not dressed for public viewing, I was dressed for canning. I had to suck it up and met her at Ihop. Catching up was worth being caught at my “less than best”.

I made it to SB’s around 12:30ish and we got busy with all of our tomatoes. We both bought 1/2 bushel so we had a lot to chop. I also made a small batch of salsa because I never got around to it this year.img_4519

She has a handy dandy Vitamix blender that pulverized everything so skin and seeds were left in the mix. That did save some time but I still didn’t get home until right after eight. There was only one slight mishap…..img_4522

I ended up with 6 pints of salsa and we are splitting the 16 quarts of sauce.fullsizerender67

Two are missing from the picture because you can only fit so much in the canner. SB introduced me to a new sweet treat while I was there. Wine brownies…have you ever tried them? Holy moly they were amazing!img_4521

I just pulled a batch out of the oven a few minutes ago. I don’t have a sweet red, only a dry red, so hopefully it’s still as yummy. The girls at work will let me know in the A.M. I got home just in time to watch Once Upon a Time and now here I am. Breakfast and sauce…that was my whole day and it was perfect.

Yesterday I managed to get a little bit of running around done before I went to my waitress job. There was an amazing sunset last night and those kiddos at work followed me outside with their own phones to capture it. fullsizerender68

 

My laugh out loud moment of the day was when I saw this on the back of an SUV.fullsizerender69

In yesterday’s mail while the girl was just coming out of couch coma I made her open some letters. She was up all night vomiting so it put a damper on any excitement at that time… She was accepted to Notre Dame and she received her first $1000.00 scholarship offer from our local university which does have a geology program. Those are two big things and the poor thing was miserable with the stomach flu. When I came home from my waitress job she was eating solid food and talking my ear off….she was feeling much better.

Knock on wood, so far my thieves oil defense is working, I even put the stuff in the diffusers. I was only nauseous when I was around the girl, outside of the house I was fine. Hopefully I don’t get what she had….

I committed to a 5K today. What was I thinking?  The OD at work brought it to my attention and assured me that between now and the middle of December was enough time to get ready. I mentioned it to SB and she is in….there is no going back now. Time to get serious and start training……Zia

About dragonflyzia

I am just a woman finally accepting that I was never meant to be in the box. I don't fit into any stereotypes, please don't try and label me, that doesn't work either. I am embracing my uniqueness in ways that are new and challenging to me, so that I may continue to grow and never stop learning.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sauce Day!

  1. Wine brownies, never heard of it. Sounds good. Congrats to the girl on ND and the scholarship

Please feel free to share your thoughts..........

