The Unknown Road

The girl and I went to one of my coworker’s house last night for a LuLaRoe party. I have never been to M’s house and while I knew it was rural, she assured me it was close to my house. Yesterday was a rainy dreary day and the darkness came fast. I tried to get there while it was still light but I misjudged how much light was left.

For the first five minutes I was fine because I knew where I was, it was after the “turn left and then turn right at the second stop sign” that it became iffy. It felt like ten years later when I got to the second stop sign. I didn’t want to turn right and venture down this road. The street sign was busted off, the road was narrow and it was very dark. I just looked at the girl and said “this is too Wrong Turn for me” It was against my better judgement but I turned right. The girl had one job…to count driveways on the right. I heard her counting and said “what are you doing?” She said “counting driveways?” I brought my palm to my forehead and then swept it into the air “No, you are counting mailboxes! We are never going to find this place.” “Mom, it will be fine. Oh look there’s a skunk, I never saw one alive in the wild” I just shook my head. Luckily we found it without having to turn around. It’s a miracle that we found it on the first try.

I found a t-shirt and the girl is on a waiting list for solid black pants. Everybody is wearing these things around here. While these show more than yoga pants they are usually paired with a shirt that hides it. The pants will be “something soft” from the girl’s Christmas list. That’s the reason we went. The print on the shirt is busy but it’s a shirt….I can’t wear the pants…..I just can’t.img_4621

The drive home went much faster. We even stopped to take a picture of a church. The girl wanted the picture and thinks that all scary movies with a church had to have been filmed here.fullsizerender86

There were some pretty big tombstones out there. I pulled all the way up to the church, I thought the lighting might be better. The girl wanted the shot from the end of the drive, so I drove back down. It was the perfect drive for a Halloween-ish night.

That was our excitement this weekend…today I worked and ran some errands. The girl hung out at a friends and watched scary movies. She is in bed and I am doing laundry, nothing to write about there…….Zia

About dragonflyzia

I am just a woman finally accepting that I was never meant to be in the box. I don't fit into any stereotypes, please don't try and label me, that doesn't work either. I am embracing my uniqueness in ways that are new and challenging to me, so that I may continue to grow and never stop learning.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please feel free to share your thoughts..........

