Vacation Day 1

I am trying really hard to not make myself crazy with lists….just go with the flow, that’s what I keep telling myself. I still had to get up this morning to take the girl to school but I did come home and spend a good hour in the bath tub. Once I was presentable again I ventured out to tackle the overgrown shrubbery in front of the house.img_4851

It looks worse on the other side. There will be better before and after once I make a dent. The branches keep getting caught and I think that is causing the battery to die faster. I guess this is a multi day project….

I organized some things and made a quick trip to the grocery store before I had to pick p the girl. I was afraid to get to involved in anything because I knew I would have to stop and go pick her up.  I had started another batch of pizzelles and realized that I didn’t have enough baking powder or anise oil. To get the anise oil I would have to go to the old Italian specialty store. I don’t stop there too often anymore, I kept running into people I didn’t want to see and my other Italian specialty store is a tiny bit more expensive in the things that I use every week. The anise oil however….was $2.00 more, so I sucked it up and went in. I was in and out as fast as my gimp foot would allow. Have I mentioned how much I hate to be slowed down? I get it….the Universe is forcing the issue, but I still have a few things to do…geez!

KB stopped over today and I am making all of the teacher gifts for her this Christmas. I gave her a special price because she is my friend and she is ordering 6 book page trees and for some bath salts. I will have to make new bath salts, I can’t use the Reiki charged ones I have for the price I am giving her. Which is no big deal, I even know what containers I will use. The more I sell, the more it helps me with my own Christmas shopping.

Tomorrow I am dragging the girl with me to a craft seminar. My friend from back in the JoAnn Fabric days is in charge of it. We went last year and I learned how to make those tissue paper flowers that I used as bows so I can’t wait to get new ideas this year. The girl is not so happy, but she will get over it. I still get a little uneasy when I venture out around the old house but I won’t let that stop me and I am not taking the long way around this time.

I popped Moonstruck in the DVD player tonight and sat down to make some Pizzelles. The girl hates this movie…she only slightly taunted me with I-Funny…..it is a super moon,so she will have to deal with it.img_4856

She did sit and talk to me the whole time I made cookies, at least an hour. I usually make one batch of these and they last the whole holiday season because there are other cookies for the kids to eat. I made these to satisfy my sweet tooth so I wouldn’t eat any Halloween chocolate which did work but the kids devoured them. The boy and I had a cookie discussion today. I informed him of the cookie swap at work and how the one girl makes amazing Hershey kiss cookies and he wasn’t impressed. Here’s the thing….my cookies taste pretty darn good but they are not pretty. They are not uniform in size and rarely look like the picture. The boy does not care. He requests my hot mess of different size buckeyes and my peanut butter Hershey kiss cookies. I really need to get the girl more interested in baking so she can help me out. If we get a good amount of participants in the cookie exchange at work then I won’t make much more than what the boy has requested. None of us needs all of those cookies.

I also decided to do a series of ornaments for the family history Christmas present. I have made too many big things and I thought a set of three different ornaments would be a good start. I am using these for inspiration, the baby for sure and possibly the snowflake ones…..img_4846img_4848img_4847

Fingers crossed that it all comes out okay…. I am trying to finish up on some laundry but boy oh boy those stairs are hard on my foot……Zia

About dragonflyzia

I am just a woman finally accepting that I was never meant to be in the box. I don't fit into any stereotypes, please don't try and label me, that doesn't work either. I am embracing my uniqueness in ways that are new and challenging to me, so that I may continue to grow and never stop learning.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please feel free to share your thoughts..........

