Vacation Day 2

This morning was not my proudest moment and I used all of my energy for the whole day in that hour and twenty minutes when I lost it. I really lost it. Pregnant girl who we meet every morning at the same time sent a text to my girl that she was going in late to school today. Like it was perfectly acceptable “I’ll be going into school late today.” She sent that text five minutes after the time we should have left for me to take her to meet the bus at her home school. I gave it my best shot. I have to drive through a speed trap town so I had to drive the speed limit. The minute I crossed out of their jurisdiction I flew….60 in a 45..but the old speed limit on that patch of road used to be 55 so it’s not as crazy as it sounds. I was at her school waiting to turn into the parking lot when her bus pulled out. What ever sanity and rational behavior that I was grasping onto fled at that very moment. I had to drive her all the way out to her school, I was a livid mess. Why? I’m on vacation so it’s not like I would be late for work. I think that the sad truth is….I didn’t have any makeup on. How pathetically vain is that? What if my car broke down? What if I was in an accident? I can’t speak to someone without makeup on! Remember me…..the girl who puts makeup on to shovel snow? Thankfully the sun came up and I could put on sunglasses. Then after I get the girl to school on time I get stuck behind this guy…..fullsizerender105

I don’t even know what that is? Since I was going no where fast I was over analyzing myself trying to figure out why I have to wear a mask every single day. The only thing I could come up with was when I was 17 and like 100 pounds someone thought I was a dude. I was on my way home after babysitting and they were out way past 4am so they left me sleeping. I didn’t have any makeup with me to put on because oddly enough I am not “reapply my makeup all day girl”. It was my first experience with car trouble and my introduction to Bars and Leaks which got me home. I’m not sure why my stonewashed jeans and long, permed, highlighted hair screamed “dude” to this guy but I never forgot it. Thinking about this made me reminisce about my first car. It was a boat of a seventy something Mercury Cougar but it was a V-8 and that car flew. I would kill my kids if they drove as fast as I did in that car….occasionally. I was 95% responsible and 5% reckless but mostly I was 100% lucky. It’s not a secret that I have a lead foot and not a single 4-cyl out there has enough go for me and yet that is what I tend to get stuck with car after car.

I really wanted to get my bars done today. I tried to go a few weeks ago but her child was sick so she canceled her day. I was so very grateful that they squeezed me in at the end of her day. I also officially signed up for Reiki 2 on Saturday. This was a different experience compared to the first. My throat chakra clenched a few times but that was it. There was no story in my head this time either. I saw colors. First it was a champagne shimmery color, the it was a white glittery color, then it was purple and then it was royal blue, and sometimes it was just white. I have no idea if that even means anything but that’s what I experienced today.

There was no point in going home after that so I just headed out to meet the girl. I had a little time so I thought I would take a shot and swing by the BMV since my tags expire Monday. If there were a ton of people I would just come back another day. I walked in when she called 63 as my hand was pulling 63 from the ticket holder. When does that ever happen?  I was in there less than six minutes, that has to be some kind of record.

We came home and I started on an early dinner because we had that craft seminar at 7. The girl tried to help tackle those crazy overgrown bushes that I have been working on, which wasn’t very long before the battery died. Her arms were all shaky and she couldn’t text or play video games….now maybe she will lay off with the “why haven’t you finished that yet, how long can it take?” comments.

The seminar was interesting and these were my favorite projects.img_4865img_4864img_4863

The tree wasn’t one of her projects but I did get a good look at it’s innards so I’m pretty sure I can duplicate it. It lasted less than an hour so the girl had time to watch The Flash. Rushing home to the television? I’m glad I only watch one show. Once Upon a Time is enough for me.

My foot is not cooperating and I feel like a fool everywhere I go with my limp. Do you have any idea how hard it is to keep your foot elevated in a comfortable way? Grrr, why this week? I am going to have to take my laptop to the kitchen and prop my foot up on a chair. Yes I am inspired and am going to write some here in a few, I just won’t be comfortable while I’m attempting to write…….Zia

About dragonflyzia

I am just a woman finally accepting that I was never meant to be in the box. I don't fit into any stereotypes, please don't try and label me, that doesn't work either. I am embracing my uniqueness in ways that are new and challenging to me, so that I may continue to grow and never stop learning.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please feel free to share your thoughts..........

