Another Year Older….

Yep….I made it another year. Once you get to a certain age, birthdays are just like any other day. image-1

I am lucky enough to have some great people in my life that do their best to make things special for me. I do have a small problem with Facebook messages and text messages replacing actual human contact, but those are the times we live in. In one way I am like an elephant…..I never forget. It’s a personality flaw but I am who I am. I have friends who have wished me well and even brought me presents and today I received a few more.  My office manager made me Tiramisu…..my favorite cake and her first attempt. She even used my homemade Kahlua in the recipe…..img_4916

It was pretty darn tasty and since it was my birthday, I ate a piece before I ate my lunch. The girls at the front desk went in and bought me a bottle of wine and the People magazine that I did not buy because I knew it would find it’s way to me. I received my first copy today, I am sure there will be more. When you are a huge fan for so long…people just know.img_4922

I even had a patient bring me this….img_4923

I must have made a comment when I scheduled her appointment…something like “I’ll see you on my birthday.” The fact that she remembered  was so sweet.

I came home and the girl brought from her grandmother’s a skinny tree. My idea of skinny is not the same I guess and this tree is twice as wide as I anticipated. Why is she even giving me the tree? We don’t even like each other? The girl put it up in the writing room and now I have ambiance. Not the crazy colorful lights that are on the real tree, but the nice white lights that I find so calming. My plan was to use my uncle’s hand carved ornaments on this tree and I had an old piece of garland….but this will not be enough. Maybe just a more elaborate garland will do the trick, I don’t want to add anymore ornaments? Maybe I will test out my idea for family history ornaments on this tree?img_4921

Weird picture….the whole tree looks haunted. I won’t mention the part where the dog was growling at nothing in the girls room. She already told me she is sleeping with the lights on….

In the mail today I received a present from my friend up North. The piece de resistance….img_4919

It is absolutely beautiful. It is hand sewn, leather bound and perfect. She said if I was a book this would be me. She was hoping to inspire my writing…it is so perfect it feels almost sacred. That first word will take some courage….I wouldn’t want to mess it up. I keep picking it up and smelling it….because I am a big book nerd, and it smells amazing!

The kids gave me their presents…the girl gave me next years Outlander calendar and the boy gave me a coffee cup.  It’s to replace one that mysteriously ended up broken…. it says…Life isn’t about finding yourself. Life is about creating yourself. I was crushed when my cup ended up broken, and now I have a new one. He paid way too much for it on eBay. He was actually considering giving me this for Christmas…..img_0755

Yes I love Buffy. It was my favorite show in the history of ever but what in the world would I do with this? His dad collects statues like this not me. Thank goodness I sent the girl to approve his plan. She knew better and said no way.

That was my day….It wasn’t crazy over the top….it was perfect for me….Zia

About dragonflyzia

I am just a woman finally accepting that I was never meant to be in the box. I don't fit into any stereotypes, please don't try and label me, that doesn't work either. I am embracing my uniqueness in ways that are new and challenging to me, so that I may continue to grow and never stop learning.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Another Year Older….

  1. Happy Birthday. May you have many many more!!! 🎂🎉🍾

Please feel free to share your thoughts..........

