The Great Slow Down

Clearly the Universe wants me to slow down, why can’t I listen?  Was it absolutely necessary for me to go out on Black Friday? Nope. I got my best deal at my first stop. Petsmart. The deal was for 10 pounds and lucky for me they were substituting a 7 pound box of treats because they ran out. It’s a huge box for only $4.99 and the cat litter I like was $8.99.img_4943

The girl wanted to make ornaments for her friends so I headed to JoAnn’s. Both of those places we were in and out. JC Penney’s was a nightmare. I was so irritated by the time I found a worker after hobbling around for 15 minutes or so, only to find out that they were out of the item. The boy found a pair of slippers that he liked and we stood in line for 15 minutes more. There were two women checking out and the line only moved two people in all of that time so we put the slippers down and left. That nasty rodent girl works there now. The one who lives off of her elderly grandparents and used to offer the Cockroach blowjobs while I was at work. Ickity ick! That was just the icing on the cake seeing her on the way out. I think it will be a long time before I shop there again.

I made a kid swap because the girl wanted to go to Barnes and Noble. We parked and hit a few of the other stores that were close by but only purchasing from the book store. They have a nice selection of Fantastic Beast merchandise but not what I am looking for. I need this for the girl, preferably before Christmas….img_4950

My favorite was Frank the Thunderbird but this guy was my next favorite. This would be my Christmas coup if I can find him. I have looked everywhere. When we got home and I took off my shoes, I realized that I no longer had an ankle. Yes, that’s me….not so bright. I overworked it on Thanksgiving and needlessly went out shopping the next day. I worked on the canvas project and watched Christmas movies with the girl the rest of the night. It’s not the best thing I have created but it’s not horrible. I made eight of them for less than $10.fullsizerender113

Today I was back on refusing the Tylenol. My thought was that I can’t overdo it if I can feel it. It wasn’t as swollen but it was still swollen. Making soup and cooking dinner, up and down the stairs doing laundry and getting supplies is still hard on the old foot. We did run to one of the craft stores today. I was looking for a nature type garland for my newly acquired tree. The money they want at even 70% off is ridiculous so I let the garland idea go and added some poinsettias and sparkly flowers. I am not going to spend money now on decorations and I think I did okay with the $12.00 I did spend.  I want the focus to be my Uncle’s ornaments and I think this did the trick. The girl put this tree up and didn’t do the best job opening the branches but it’s good enough for me.fullsizerender112

When I was scrolling through Pinterest yesterday I came across this tree.img_4947

I love, love, love this! There was a similar project in a frame using broken jewelry but this kind is hard to find at garage sales and such. I think next Summer I will look a little harder. I definitely want to make this tree.

I made the kids grab an animal and sit in front of the tree today. I need to get working on my Christmas cards. Thankfully CVS had the pictures done in less than an hour. I bought my cards at the end of the season last year so I don’t even remember what they look like. The good thing is…..I have to sit down to sign and address them…….Zia

About dragonflyzia

I am just a woman finally accepting that I was never meant to be in the box. I don't fit into any stereotypes, please don't try and label me, that doesn't work either. I am embracing my uniqueness in ways that are new and challenging to me, so that I may continue to grow and never stop learning.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please feel free to share your thoughts..........

