Sweet Holidays

My kids are of the age that if I need help….they should help. I attempted to pass the cookie torch to the girl yesterday, she did it but she didn’t like it. It was a snowy Sunday and neither of us wanted to get out of bed. The girl because she is a teenager and myself because I was exhausted from my waitress job the night before. She only made gingersnaps and snickerdoodles, I made the peanut butter kiss cookies and buckeyes. I wanted to teach the girl how to use the pizzelle iron but we ran out of time, maybe Wednesday? The funniest part of the day was when she was measuring 1/4 cup of molasses.  “why is this not coming out? Oh wait here it comes….this is going to take forever! Wait?! Is this what you mean when you tell me I am slower than molasses in January? I get it now.”  I love a good aha moment. That’s it for the cookies this year. I am in a cookie swap at work and they requested the dark chocolate brownies with cranberries and dark chocolate chips so the cookies I receive in the swap are it. I mainly only eat the pizzelles and the kids ate up both batches of those.

I forgot to post a picture of the fresh wreath that the party at my waitress job left. I made sure everyone took one but I snatched up the extra bows. The cat claimed it before I ever found a spot for it….fullsizerender124

Speaking of my anti social, don’t pick me up cat….at 3:04 this morning a really loud plow truck went down the street…all of a sudden I had a purring snuggler. He slept with me until I got out of bed, it was kind of funny.

We received our fruit baskets from work today and I also inherited 3 boxes of optical books. These are the two that I am using to make our OD some book trees.img_5062

While I was working on the trees, I asked the girl to put in a Christmas movie. I saw Beverly D’Angelo and Meatloaf so I picked this one on Netflix….img_5063

Holy wow! I don’t even know what to say…it was like a train wreck. The girl kept referring it to Daryl’s (Walking Dead) backstory….it was different. I do miss ABC Family’s Christmas specials on cable. They are fun sweet movies, Netflix seems to collect the random strange ones. This one was definitely memorable.

I didn’t get home from work until after six so the rest of my night flew, I need time to slow down….just a little…..Zia

About dragonflyzia

I am just a woman finally accepting that I was never meant to be in the box. I don't fit into any stereotypes, please don't try and label me, that doesn't work either. I am embracing my uniqueness in ways that are new and challenging to me, so that I may continue to grow and never stop learning.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sweet Holidays

  1. Love snickerdoodles they are my favorite. Have a great week.

Please feel free to share your thoughts..........

