Thirty Odd Years

There are moments when your mortality comes into question. I was told once by a psychic who was dead on with most things that I would die in my seventies surrounded by my children and grandchildren. That doesn’t seem like a bad way to go…I think? I’m 46 so I could have anywhere for 24 to 33 years left….that’s not a lot of time. Of course…I could get hit by a beer truck tomorrow,but I prefer to hold on the the seventies image.

What has brought on this line of thinking? Maybe it’s been the battle with the Plantar Fasciitis?  I have been having a good couple of days with that one, it must be getting better. Maybe it’s because the last week or so I cannot read while wearing my contacts? I am okay with my glasses, but who wants to wear glasses? Stupid Presbyopia….one day I am fine and the next my reading is gone…not fair. It’s a good thing my Gucci’s are super cute because Monday through Friday they will be on my face. Looks like I will be getting progressive lenses in my next pair of glasses, I have til March to come to grips with that one.

Yesterday when I was driving the girl to meet her ride before I went to work I was in awe of the moon. It was huge and shining brightly through the trees that were frosted with snow. It took everything I had to not pull over to try and capture the moment. Two things stopped me…I only have the camera on my phone and our engineers office is a joke.  The road conditions are a disgrace and a sign of a lazy person who makes too much money.  He had the nerve to make a statement on the news about bad drivers….yes I was alone in my living room m- f-ing the television. I said a lot to that pompous ass that couldn’t hear me. Why can’t the girl show interest in a college that is not here?

Oh….back to the moon. I was driving so I handed the girl my phone to take a picture and this is what I get…..fullsizerender126

I am so tired of taking crappy pictures. All of the cameras that I have ever had have never been able to capture the magic of the moon.  I have always wanted a real camera but never could I bring myself to buy one. Don’t panic…I didn’t buy one and no..I am not planning on taking anything out of my savings to buy one, but…. I did stop at a trusted camera shop yesterday just to see…. and this is what I found for a beginner.fullsizerender125img_5075

They have a layaway and there is no time limit on it…..I just might take advantage of the sale and put it in layaway next week.  Every time that I have ever felt the urge to stop and capture a moment it is in the early morning.  There is just something about the light during that time. Too bad for me I really like my sleep. When I am all snuggled in, under my cozy warm blankets…the last thing I want to do is get out of bed, yet that is where the morning light magic happens. I remember taking the girl to school a couple of years ago…I came around the bend and there was a rising fog over an empty cornfield filled with geese.  The light was perfect and that would have been an amazing photo but I didn’t have the right equipment or the time to take it. I may…do this next week, maybe? I am seriously considering it.  Life is short….I want to take the picture.

I have been making book trees, mostly for family but I did sell three more. This next week will be a busy one, trying to finish everything up by Christmas Eve. I’m not stressing yet, I think I will be fine. I am meeting SB tomorrow to exchange out Christmas presents over dinner. It sure will be awkward carrying in that box holding the driftwood tree. July feels like a lifetime ago. This getting old stuff is for the birds…..ZiaIMG_3974

About dragonflyzia

I am just a woman finally accepting that I was never meant to be in the box. I don't fit into any stereotypes, please don't try and label me, that doesn't work either. I am embracing my uniqueness in ways that are new and challenging to me, so that I may continue to grow and never stop learning.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thirty Odd Years

  1. Mortality is an interesting topic to explore. I hope you enjoy everyday and have fun and not focus on all of it too much. I am starting to get into photography myself though I also cannot afford a camera at the moment. I hope you continue on with everything into the New Year. Have a great one.

    • dragonflyzia says:

      Yes, I think we would be braver if we lived every day like it was our last. Maybe your camera store has a layaway too? It couldn’t hurt to ask….Have a safe and Happy New Year!

Please feel free to share your thoughts..........

