Being There…..

There was nothing I could do for my friend today except be there for her. Let me tell you….it was not easy. Watching someone you care about suffer, never is.

I am happy to report that she had a house full of family and friends, which made it easier for her.  She was worried about what would happen after everyone left.

Her little boy is facing things head on and wants to go to school tomorrow. Her daughter is avoiding it all. She was laying in bed when I got there…like that was going to stop me. I crawled into bed and hugged her, she hugged me back…it’s that whole weird recognizes weird thing. Later she left to go to the movies with her friends. She will ignore what is happening around her until she can’t and then oh boy….that will be ugly.  KB is doing the best that she can and is holding it together fairly well.

The last half hour or so it was just us girls, there were five of us snuggled under blankets talking. That was the best we could do for normalcy.  I stayed for almost two hours and left because I knew I would have to cook dinner. Sometimes I think the girl could be a little more self sufficient…..some of that has to be my fault I’m sure.

I haven’t seen KB’s mom in years. She must have hugged me and kissed me at least ten times. She is such a beautiful soul, it was very hard to be nice to KB’s father knowing what I know now. I said to KB’s mom “maybe you should move in here for a while.” she said “don’t be putting ideas in my head.” I said “look around, life is short. That is exactly what I am doing and you deserve the best.” Maybe it’s wrong of me to meddle and frankly I don’t care. That woman doesn’t have a mean bone in her body and she deserves way better.

All of the plans will be finalized tomorrow. I already told the girl that she will be stuck going to book club Friday night. There won’t be enough time to take her back home. She needs to be at the calling hours and that is the way the cookie crumbles…..Zia

About dragonflyzia

I am just a woman finally accepting that I was never meant to be in the box. I don't fit into any stereotypes, please don't try and label me, that doesn't work either. I am embracing my uniqueness in ways that are new and challenging to me, so that I may continue to grow and never stop learning.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please feel free to share your thoughts..........

