Dreamy Weekend

Holy Moly, I can’t believe it’s Sunday night already!  I know I lost a lot of the weekend to sleep but it was needed.  I was a little worried that it was just me but the other girls at work feel the same way, it’s part of this never ending bug.  It’s a sad day when the consensus it “thank goodness it’s the weekend and we can sleep.”

Friday night my little buddy came over to collect her soup and have a glass of wine.  Her story is different than mine but a mother lost is a mother lost and I know what she is going through. This brought up some lab talk. Thursday the lab came up at work and I was surprised at how raw those wounds still were, this just added to it.  I have my analogy and am going to submit an article to that optical magazine. It’s been playing in my head all weekend. Here’s a question….should I use Zia or my real name? I am leaning towards Zia. There were some very ugly parts of that merger…like most of it. I’m putting the horse before the cart anyway, it hasn’t been written or accepted…one step at a time.

The new food this week was a winner…img_5315

It might even be better mixed with Spanish rice or long grain rice, all I has was white rice so that’s what I used. The girl seemed to really like it so that’s all that counts.

I haven’t really talked about the herb challenge which I am still actively participating in. They recommended picking five herbs and that is what I did. The first being lavender. I am going to try an experiment later probably while listening to Front Range Radio. I am attempting lavender pizzelles….I mean waffle cookies. A true pizzelle is Anise flavored so waffle cookie it is. I love TJ Maxx…..you never know what you might find.img_5316

They also had my Italian jars for herbs that I am always on the look out for, and today they had four.img_5314

My favorite way that I wasted money today was on this…..fullsizerender149

The girl found it in Barnes and Noble while we were wondering around because I had a 20% off coupon. I was looking for my word of the day calendar but they didn’t have one. This find made me do a little dance in the store…I can’t wait to start coloring it. It has all seven seasons with cast from Seth Green to Nathan Fillion. Is it sad that I can hear the lines being said when I look at the pages? Everyone has a guilty pleasure and Buffy is mine.

Saturday was full of waitressing and sadness. My dear friend Blondie’s precious pooch was attacked by a dog on a leash. Blondie has spent countless hours fretting over the coyote in her neighborhood only to have her pooch attacked while the owner was present. Hundreds of prayers later, the miracle working vet let her go home, where I am sure she is being smothered with love from Blondie. I am so relieved…..xoxo

I haven’t really mentioned the waitress job the last couple of weeks. The kid manager was let go, I understand it, I only hope he does. The new girl seems to be doing a good job. She pitches right in and seems to know what she is doing. I was sold when she said “My heart hurts that he takes the credit card fees out of your tips, it’s not right.” Right or not….I only work one day a week and nobody else seems interested in hiring me for that. It’s been busier than usual the last two weeks as well so I am not complaining.

Right now I am off to clean up the hot mess in my kitchen before I start my experiment. Between dinner and the soup of the week “Tomato Florentine” with extra onion and garlic to ward off illness….my kitchen is an uber hot mess. Knock on wood, I seem to be ahead of the game. Hopefully that translates to an early bedtime……Zia

PS. my crazy dreams this weekend include a dragonfly and an eagle. I was driving in my dream when I saw the dragonfly and said “its’ January, I can’t believe I am seeing this”. Another night I had a dream about an eagle who was big and beautiful and landed on someones tree who didn’t like birds. He was known to shoot at them, which I took immediate offense to and I can’t remember what I threatened but I was mad.  The eagle was not injured, thank goodness.

 

About dragonflyzia

I am just a woman finally accepting that I was never meant to be in the box. I don't fit into any stereotypes, please don't try and label me, that doesn't work either. I am embracing my uniqueness in ways that are new and challenging to me, so that I may continue to grow and never stop learning.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please feel free to share your thoughts..........

