Loose Knit

It has been an interesting couple of days around here. Uneventful but interesting. Last night I went to RD’s  to dry some clothes. I brought wet clothes and wine, she supplied the chips and dip. Not my best dinner of the week but it was tasty.

The big topic yesterday was Punxsutawney Phil’s prediction which was six more weeks of Winter. It’s always six more weeks of Winter but the days are longer and the light is growing. February 2nd is the hump day of Winter, welcome back the light.img_5326

I always cross reference with Buckeye Chuck, Ohio’s groundhog who this year, agrees with Phil. Force of Nature Girl never heard of Chuck, I swear she lives under a rock. She was a real trooper today….we had some real winners with billing issues. One guy was so bad when he left I looked at her and said “if I had all of those witchy powers that you tell everyone I do, that man would have turned into a toad at my window.” She was insulted more than once, like I said she was a trooper today.

We had some pretty awesome patients today as well.  The European knitter was my favorite. Her work is stunning and during our conversation I learned that in Europe men and women are taught to sew, knit and crochet. Her granddaughter has knitted dresses and is in design school on the west coast. What a beautiful legacy.  The first ptosis (lid) surgery I ever watched was her surgery. img_5337

We had just had a discussion about knitted wash cloths twenty minutes before  this patient. I guess I am the only one who prefers the handmade kitchen wash cloths over the store bought from our conversation this afternoon. SB has made me one or two and I have picked up some at flea markets or garage sales. I just prefer them and would rather have homemade over store bought.img_5336

Any opinions out there on this topic? Do you use knitted or store bought wash cloths in the kitchen?

Wednesday night I had a weird dream…maybe not the dream just the whisper part. I don’t even remember the dream except for the cans on a shelf that I use to make the book page trees. I woke up from this dream to a very loud, very deep whisper saying “mom” in my ear. Seriously….I was asleep one second and then ‘boing’ my eyes were wide open. I looked at my phone and it was 1 am, the boy wasn’t due yet? I didn’t fall back asleep until after he got home, sometime before 3 am. Sometimes I think that spirits just like to mess with me. I was worried that maybe something happened to the boy since I could hear the girl tossing and turning. I talked myself down from that one and fell asleep shortly after he came home. It was very unsettling.

It’s Friday so I am hoping for a deep, restful sleep. When did my Friday’s get so boring? That’s okay, I will take boring over drama any day of the week….Zia

About dragonflyzia

I am just a woman finally accepting that I was never meant to be in the box. I don't fit into any stereotypes, please don't try and label me, that doesn't work either. I am embracing my uniqueness in ways that are new and challenging to me, so that I may continue to grow and never stop learning.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Loose Knit

  1. ohthecrownshewears says:

    Love the hat!

Please feel free to share your thoughts..........

