Thrift Shop Kind of Day

I was so confused when I woke up this morning. Lots of things threw me off. The kids slept over their dad’s last night and that hasn’t happened in forever. There was a thunderstorm early this morning and because the girl wasn’t there I had to let the beagle sleep with me. I grabbed my library books to return because it was half day Wednesday but grabbed enough girly maintenance product like it was a full day. I swear I didn’t know if I was coming or going.

I made it through work just fine today, yesterday there were Negative Nancy issues. Assholes are everywhere I know plus I was PMSing it pretty bad and that made it worse. I didn’t blog last night because I didn’t want it to be a bitch fest. I’m still not happy with her but I won’t dwell on it.

Oh before I forget the girl’s first night of making dinner went well. (2nd if you count that one time last summer when she cooked one pork chop at a time) I’m not a big fan of stir fry but the kids like it….I thought the broccoli was tasty. They ate it and that’s what is important.img_5437

I have an overwhelming desire to create something and it is interfering with my desire to purge. I have to find a balance. Today was a thrift shop kind of day. I headed to Goodwill after I left the library. I had a 25% off coupon so that made my deals much sweeter. They had a few racks of sweaters for $1.00 a piece and I grabbed seven nice pre shrunk wool sweaters. There were more but everybody deserves a shot at clearance wool so I limited myself. I really want to make some upcycled ponchos and that’s what the sweaters are for.

I found one of those fancy dog brushes that I can never bring myself to buy. I grabbed it and before the coupon it was .79. I now know that it originally had other sizes with it but it doesn’t matter to me. I didn’t test it on the cat but it works well on the beagle and anything that helps with shedding for that price is worth a shot. img_5445img_5446

Then I found some unopened canning lids for a steal….fullsizerender163

I bought a beat up old silverware box for $1.99. It’s the perfect size to experiment with chalk paint. I have someone’s tried and true recipe which is better than paying some ridiculous price for the paint.img_5440img_5439

I gutted the old dusty inside but I will show you that picture when I have an after to go with it.  I had a dream last light that I was looking out the front window and the neighbors (not real) had a dresser in their driveway. It was looking like they might be setting up for a garage sale so I walked over and asked. They wanted $200.00 for that dresser…it wasn’t that nice. I did ask them to keep an eye on the girl because I was going to the Bon Jovi concert later and I just needed someone to keep an eye on her……I was serious when I said this dreaming is non stop. I think this dream lit the fire under my butt to try try this new paint. Well new to me…

I picked out a sample of paint to use in the recipe at Lowe’s. Lighting makes such a difference. In the store it looked more beige and at home it looks more pink? It’s the experiment so it’s not the end of the world. I know better too, I just wanted to get going asap on this project.fullsizerender164

When I went to the ReStore I found this cute little stand for $2.00. I’m mostly sure it’s going on my dresser in the bedroom.img_5443img_5441

I have the biggest itch to change things up. I’m sure it’s Spring fever….whatever it takes to get me motivated is fine with me. Maybe if I focus on “out with the old and in with the new” I can still purge and create? It’s a theory……Zia

About dragonflyzia

I am just a woman finally accepting that I was never meant to be in the box. I don't fit into any stereotypes, please don't try and label me, that doesn't work either. I am embracing my uniqueness in ways that are new and challenging to me, so that I may continue to grow and never stop learning.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thrift Shop Kind of Day

  1. Corky Morrissey says:

    HOLY SHIT – YOU REALLY ARE AMAZING – YOU ARE LIKE THE ENERGIZER BUNNY

Please feel free to share your thoughts..........

