Little Projects

Sometimes….well let’s be honest….most of the time, I end up overwhelmed with projects. I always think that I have more time than I actually do. In the case of deodorant for the girls rugby team, I had to order an ingredient.  I made a batch last night. I can’t meet up with the girl who is delivering them until next Sunday right after my Fire Reiki class.

Since I was childless again tonight…. I came home to let the dog out, feed the animals and went back out. I bought a picture around Christmas from the Restore for $8.00. I had always coveted those Papyrus pieces that I used to frame back in the day and now I owned one. It laid against the wall on the side of the bed for months. Tonight I took it to Hobby Lobby. I had a mat that actually matched the piece cut and bought a wall frame. I used a coupon on the mat and the frame was 50% off.  I have roughly $36.00 into the piece if you count the original $8.00 which I am.

Once I took the original frame off and removed the mat I was appalled at the mounting of this piece. It wasn’t archival mounting and it will be more noticeable in another ten to fifteen years. The color choice of the mat and the frame should have been a clue.

I took the orange mat off, had a black, black core mat cut, and picked a new frame. I didn’t want to chance damaging the Papyrus so I left the mounting as is.

The original frame was 16 x 19.5….. 1/2 an inch from a standard size. While that worked in my favor, it makes me like this framer less and that is already pretty low. In my opinion, it looks much better now. I guess I’m still a frame snob….Oh well, somethings never change. I’m not leaving it in this spot, I was just trying to fight the glare and get a good picture. It was impossible without help from the girl. I’m not even sure where I am going to hang yet.

I feel like I am on a little roll…..now if only I could keep up the momentum……Zia

About dragonflyzia

I am just a woman finally accepting that I was never meant to be in the box. I don't fit into any stereotypes, please don't try and label me, that doesn't work either. I am embracing my uniqueness in ways that are new and challenging to me, so that I may continue to grow and never stop learning.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please feel free to share your thoughts..........

