My Zen

I could say with certainty that creating is my Zen. Over the years I have become very good at looking at something, seeing it another way, and then making it happen. Maybe it started out of necessity? Maybe I have always been that way? I can’t pinpoint when it started. People will look at something that I have made and say “that takes a lot of patience.”  I don’t think it’s patience since that is not one of my strong points. I really think it might be my Zen.

I found a permanent place (in a temporary house) for my Papyrus piece that I re-framed yesterday.

The glare isn’t horrible in this picture but you can see one of my salt lamps. When I stopped at Goodwill today I found a unique map for the girl. She is drawn to globes and maps and this was totally her style.

She immediately pointed out the sea monster and then the ship. I did make it to get my blood work done this morning, I slept in yesterday so it had to be today. Hopefully the tests will show something. The doctor scoffed at my peri menopause claim….today was day 11 of the weirdest period ever. Everything was fine with the pap and the mammogram…..only time will tell.

I ran into an old friend today at the health food store. I am not used to bear hugs and was completely taken off guard. I was talking to the young girl I know who works there. When I went to the snooty yoga studio she was getting her teacher training. She is now in a place where she can open her own studio as I was learning about when he walked in. He told her twice, maybe three times that I was his first kiss. Spin the bottle in the back yard when you aren’t even a teenager doesn’t really count….does it? It doesn’t mater it was a million years ago. It was good to see him and holy gray Batman….BonJovi made me feel old…this kid made me feel old….do you think the Universe is telling me I am old?

I came home and started working on my next project that has been hanging around. Do you remember when I found this dress form at Goodwill a while ago?

I finally tackled my fairy project. It took the rest of the afternoon to finish her. I got this far and it just didn’t look right. I enlisted PT who has made this type of project before for help. She was right….it needed to be longer.

Even though I knew it was missing something, I was pretty excited at this point. I love how the wings turned out and how everything just looked like it was always there. I had to run back to the store to find something for the skirt to balance it out. I’m not gonna lie….I was getting a little anxiety. I really wanted to finish this tonight and it was hard finding something after the fact to match. I am happy with the finished project….I’m not sure if I would attempt this project again? I lucked out at the $2.99 price for the wooden dressform, this would be crazy expensive to make if I hadn’t found that deal.

Two projects done this week and it feels good! If I don’t find something to do with these Tidy Cat buckets in the next week these things are going to the recycle center. I can only do so much……Zia

About dragonflyzia

I am just a woman finally accepting that I was never meant to be in the box. I don't fit into any stereotypes, please don't try and label me, that doesn't work either. I am embracing my uniqueness in ways that are new and challenging to me, so that I may continue to grow and never stop learning.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to My Zen

  1. Victo Dolore says:

    The dress form looks awesome!

  2. AMAZING IS WHAT YOU ARE – LOVER YOU

  3. So ethereal and magical — like a sugarplum fairy! Made me smile!

Please feel free to share your thoughts..........

