Hoppily Hopeful….

I am hopeful that this week turns out a little better than last week….boy was that a rough one.  I started my day at Ihop with a cousin from out of town. I had to be at work at 10 am so we met at 9. At that time of day it takes me less than five minutes to get to my waitress job. She went out of her way to see me so of course I would make every effort to see her. We caught up  on most of our stuff…aired out our “what’s up with her or him” laundry while eating a mediocre breakfast. It was the best part of my day.

I got to work on time and went in and started setting up. It was all buffet today which made it a little easier. The kid I shared a section with on Thanksgiving, widened our section and added another server. Every time someone says let’s just split everything 2 ways or 3 ways I feel like I lose out. If we didn’t do it this way we would probably be more or less fighting over tables so I get it.  Every time it’s my wages that get cut though..insert frowning face. I brought in the most with $207.00 and left with $182.00. It would be different if it wasn’t always me with the bigger amount. I could have been in a smaller station and made less by myself….not really sure why I am complaining.

When it was closer to 11, more people started showing up. The bus boy of the day was one of the new servers brother. I called him Jon Snow most of the day.

I’m pretty sure it was the hair. It even ended up in a curly man bun before the day was over. His sister had to Google Jon Snow because she didn’t get the reference.  All of my people were good, the kid server had two cranky women and my work daughter didn’t have any complaints. I am hopeful that this is a good sign that this week will be better than last week.

We were all in clean up mode when a customer walked in. He was supposed to be seated in one of the other sections but he walked up to the bar. What difference did it make, I knew I would be there for a while. When it’s a single guy, I try and be nice in a distant way. The chef said he needed a belt and could see his crack from the booth to the buffet. Thankfully I don’t have that image burned into my brain, I was lucky to have missed it. It was hard not to make small talk since we were taking things down and he was the only one there but it was just small talk. I wrote Happy Easter and Thank You Zia on all of the tickets today. This last guy responded and even left his number.

Even if we ignore the your instead of “you’re”….I’m not interested. Once I thought he was gone I came back out to the floor and was getting ready to commence cleaning. I asked the manager if he was gone and she said “yeah he’s gone” and then he comes out of the bathroom. I am too old to go into a ninja squat like that behind the bar but I did and I stayed that way until I heard “okay, he’s really gone this time.” That is a first from this job..

I’m sure it must be really hard to meet people and it was a harmless phone number. I think there is a certain amount of bravery to even put your phone number out there like that.  I am pretending that I never saw it and am moving on with my life.

My cousin’s wife put that they are expecting a baby on Facebook today…whew! I don’t usually have problems keeping secrets but this is another baby!! This poses an odd question….babies always come in threes…..since one cousin is having twins, does that count as two? It doesn’t much matter to me, the more the merrier as far as I’m concerned. I love nothing better than to love on a baby that I can give back the moment there are tears or poop. I did my time.:)

I did have another weird occurrence this morning. It was 3:45 am and there was a tapping sound coming from the window. It almost sounded like the bar on the mini blinds that opens and closes the slats was being blown in the wind. I looked toward the window and the cat was also looking at the window. My first thought was “I should try and take a picture and see what shows up?” The realist in me said “bitch, you have to get up and go to work tomorrow, you know there will be no sleep if you see something.” I lit a candle and laid back down. I realize that is only slightly less chicken like than sleeping with the lights on. Then the girl started tossing and turning and the dog started having a nightmare. I can hear all of this through the floor. The tapping stopped and I went back to sleep. Truth? This is the image I had in my head about the tapping….

 

I have always had an over active imagination. I have no idea what that noise was and the waking me wishes that I would have been braver last night and at least tried to capture a photo……Zia

About dragonflyzia

I am just a woman finally accepting that I was never meant to be in the box. I don't fit into any stereotypes, please don't try and label me, that doesn't work either. I am embracing my uniqueness in ways that are new and challenging to me, so that I may continue to grow and never stop learning.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please feel free to share your thoughts..........

