I Need the Sun

I tried to get the girl to pick a college anywhere but here and yet….she picked here. I now have proof that I need the sun…it’s a medical reason. If only it were that easy. More than half of us share my problem.

I finally got the call from the nurse regarding my blood work. Thyroid…fine and I was really surprised on that one. Testosterone high but in the normal range….no menopause. Cholesterol should be below 200, mine was at 214, not life altering. Vitamin D…..12.3 and I have a history on my paternal side with Osteoporosis. She prescribed 50,000 UI vitamin D Cap Bion that I only take once a week and then have more blood work done in eight weeks. There were more things on the list that she tested me for so I guess I should consider myself lucky that it’s only vitamin D. The nurse said this should help with fatigue. If this is true, can you imagine all of the things I could get done?

Today ended up not being so bad at work  with the normal exception of Negative Nancy. This morning provided us with more than average “confused” patients. That was a bit unsettling. Not as unsettling as our Hoodoo Voodoo Dracu Drug Lord that we had come in on Friday. Dude…you are scaring me with those nails….luckily he was from out of town and we probably will never see him again. Oh and Friday we also had a dirty old man wearing a shirt that said “back in my day a Selfie was what you did when your wife wouldn’t put out”. What do you say to a man who is almost eighty and wearing this shirt? Nothing. You pretend you didn’t see it….at least that’s what I did.  I am learning to pretend that I didn’t see a lot of things in this world of medical care.

I came home and filed my taxes. Why did I wait so long? I wasn’t really sure until I breathed that sigh of relief when I received the email that said “your return has been accepted.” It’s been a couple of years since that happened and I am still waiting for the rest of my 2014 income tax refund. I really didn’t want to go through that again. Now you know if it was the other way around the IRS would own me. I have jumped through all of their hoops and still no money. I don’t get it..literally and figuratively…..Zia

About dragonflyzia

I am just a woman finally accepting that I was never meant to be in the box. I don't fit into any stereotypes, please don't try and label me, that doesn't work either. I am embracing my uniqueness in ways that are new and challenging to me, so that I may continue to grow and never stop learning.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I Need the Sun

  1. Colorado has lots of sun and the scenery is not to bad either.

Please feel free to share your thoughts..........

