A Victorian Kind of Day

First I have to say I slept like the dead last night. I’m actually surprised that I not only dreamed but I remembered it in the morning. The house in the dream was Victorian and when I woke up I would have told you blue but when I went online for help with a name for the color it became more teal. Like this door….

I remember walking into the house and turning to someone (I have no idea who) and said “I need you with me, you are much better at picking up the subtle things that I miss.” We went into some man’s bedroom and it was a very small bed and then we went upstairs and found evidence of many candles that had been burned. The house was very dark and I mean the wood as well as the lighting. Next I was in the kitchen, while dark, it was still homey. I reached over and picked up a cookbook and it had a picture of a stew type recipe only it wasn’t called stew. I said “I really need to try more British recipes.”

That was really it and for not having a lot of content this dream felt weirder than most, almost familiar. When I got to work I did a little Google search on British stew. Turns out that the Brits don’t like to use the word stew and I really, really wish I could remember the word that was in my dream. Anyhoo….because it was a peasant food it is very hard to find in any British cookbook. Granted I was at work and never made it past the one source so I can’t swear to the accuracy of that little fact. 

When I came home I found out that Negative Nancy’s daughter was delivering my chair from the ReStore. I was so excited!  She showed up with her boyfriend and a friend and they hung out for a little bit. She is uber sensitive and I really wanted to see if she could feel anything in the house. She said she really didn’t. The bathroom door creaked open all on it’s own which was timely. She got up to go over that way and a goose flew over head outside, honking like crazy and the cat jumped right over her friend right as she was getting to the bathroom door. Scared the bejeezus out of her…it was quite funny.

I am very happy that my chair is home and I still can’t believe I got it for only $30.00. I haven’t figured out what I am going to do with it yet but I am working on it. I call it my Beauty and the Beast chair.

I know I will paint the wood and have the cushions recovered in a complimenting fabric. I will have to work with the plaid because I am not letting that chair go anywhere. I like this chair so much more than I would like any new one. I still can’t believe no one bought it before I got there, I guess it’s meant to be mine……Zia

About dragonflyzia

I am just a woman finally accepting that I was never meant to be in the box. I don't fit into any stereotypes, please don't try and label me, that doesn't work either. I am embracing my uniqueness in ways that are new and challenging to me, so that I may continue to grow and never stop learning.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please feel free to share your thoughts..........

