Fresh Baby

Pregnant girl had her baby today and everyone is healthy and doing fine. The girl sent me a text while I was at the store. The girl only knew that the baby was here from a photo on Snapchat. I say “Yay, do you want to go see her? Ask her how long are visiting hours.”  she responds with….”I think she just had it. Like it’s fresh.” It’s true, the baby is only a couple of hours old, I just never heard it phrased that way before. That kid of mine cracks me up.

Today was pretty boring at work. We didn’t have a doctor after 11am so that made for a long day. I did have time to finish putting the trial lenses away and the contact lens room is in tip top shape. Heaven help the person that messes that room up now that it’s under my watch. I saw two blue heron today, one through the windows at work and one on my way home. I am such a bird nerd.

The last couple of days there have been a lot of crows around the building at work. Yesterday I walked across the room to run a credit card and a crow was strutting right outside the door. I looked at the kid who was paying and said “did you see that?” “I did, do they always do that?” He asked. ” Nope, that was a first.”

I came home and grabbed my Animal Speak book and experienced a touch of nostalgia. I can honestly say that my journey first started with the crow. My friend KW copied the pages of crow from her Animal Speak book before I knew what it was. Before I ever walked a Labyrinth, before a lot of things actually. The magic of creation is calling. That is what crow means. Crows were always around me in an abundance until the day I moved south with my ex husband on what ended up being my mother’s last birthday. Leave it to a man to pick a stupid date. When I pulled into her driveway (the old house) the yard was black. I never saw so many crows in one location and as I pulled down the driveway the all lifted their wings and flew away in unison. It took me a long time to forgive myself for being too stupid to see that sign. That was only time that I have ever been smack in the middle of a murder of crows. It was months and months before I saw a crow again. I remember being really upset about that at the time. The crow is back and I am slightly better at picking up the signs. I don’t know what it means just yet…

I went to a new winery with my wine steward friend on Wednesday. The wine was okay, the food wasn’t anything special until 3am. If I go back which I probably will, I just won’t eat anything. The girls at work told me I wasn’t allowed to eat a burger out anymore, it never ends well. This burger was fine when I ate it but the flaming ass at 3am and again at 4am wasn’t worth it. Plus the waitress acted funny…..unless my invisibility skills are improving. I will go back for this view and my water fix, I can make a glass of Ohio wine last forever.

The eagle that lives near there was soaring above, it was too far up to take a picture. I could sit on this deck all day long…

The inside was nice but if I was to go back it would have to be a day nice enough to sit outside.

 

My office manager gave me a bag of fabric….beautiful fabric. I told the girl since it matched the color we are painting her furniture I will use it in her room. It[‘s time for a grown up room. Yes she can still have her vintage 1977 Star Wars sheets, they will just be hidden under a classier comforter. Luckily she liked the fabric too….in a curtain,throw pillow capacity.

I am feeling slightly behind and a little like I have my head up my ass. This vitamin D2 prescription that I am taking is not giving me more energy. If anything I would say that I am more tired since I took the pill Monday. Maybe next Monday’s pill will be better. Last night I was in bed by 10pm,I am rarely in bed at that time. I have a lot on my plate this weekend, I hope I get most of my list completed…..Zia

 

About dragonflyzia

I am just a woman finally accepting that I was never meant to be in the box. I don't fit into any stereotypes, please don't try and label me, that doesn't work either. I am embracing my uniqueness in ways that are new and challenging to me, so that I may continue to grow and never stop learning.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please feel free to share your thoughts..........

