Nervous Nellie

Nervous Nellie sounds way better than holy anxiety Batman.  I chose to sleep in and start my day a little later today. I only had a few things that I “needed” to do, go to the bank,get gas, take the girl to see her friend and check out the fresh baby, and stop at the ReStore.  We did stop at Aldi’s and get a bouquet for the new mom.

We were on our way to the hospital when I received a text from the manager at my waitress job. The party I was coming in for at 2:30  showed up around noon to set up? What the heck? So now I am worried over how these women will behave now that they have to wait to decorate. I tried really hard not to stress but it didn’t work very well.

Fresh baby was adorable and sleeping soundly. The girl didn’t want anything to do with him. I snatched him right up, held him for a few minutes while I checked his fingers and his toes and then left while the girl visited. I probably would have stayed in there while she visited if it wasn’t for all of the people. The baby daddy and his friends took up a lot of space. Pregnant girl who will now be called baby mama looked very drained and uncomfortable. Sadly I don’t see this lasting very long. Baby daddy is making comments about teaching fresh baby how to jump a fence to escape the law and baby mama says no way, not my kid. They have extra drama right now because one of the baby daddy’s friends carjacked someone and ran into a wooded area after escaping the juvenile justice center. Baby mama hopes he is caught and never gets out of prison. I think he jumped a train and will be caught eventually. The dumb ass has facial tattoos….like that will blend. I am so lucky to have the kids that I have.

I went into work and instantly the drama began. These women had an extra table brought into the room as well as a gift table and the bride and groom table. That was probably the biggest tip off to me…this was a bridal shower thrown by the grooms family. I had an evil mother in law so instantly my anxiety level went up. These women were in my way when I was setting up and didn’t want to leave after their four hours were up. There were men and children at this shower? If all of this didn’t bring back enough flashbacks, the bride reminded my of the cheating skank sister in law…what the heck?

They played many games designed to get to know the bride and groom better. One of the games they were playing they were asking questions like what’s your favorite color or restaurant? I was filling up drinks when the question “what was the brides first job?” People shouted out all kinds of things. My favorite was “waitress…or did you mean a real job?” Personally I don’t care what you think of me. That is a lucky trait because I would have never survived the Cockroach extermination if I was bothered by what people thought of me. However…..in my mother’s memory…I do take offense. Some of my family members on my father’s side made these kinds of comments about my mother and are noted in my memory forever. I’m more upset at how late I got home.

The grooms step mom was probably my favorite. I’m sure she had to deal with her own share of digs tonight. Her daughter had a couple of kids that made a huge mess and were always in my way. The little boy was about 10 months and he was so stinkin’ cute. He always had a big smile for me and when I wasn’t running around I was trying to keep him entertained. This woman surprised me and tipped me $20.00 on top of what I got off of the party. That’s what I tried to keep in my head when I vacuuming forever.

I finally get home around 9:30 only to find that the girl has washed the towels.

“Why would you wash the towels?

It’s on the list?

I know it’s on the list but at a time when we can go to the laundromat!!!! Put your bra on.

Why?

Because now we have to go to the laundromat after the day I had.

They can air dry

That will take forever, let’s go

I had two choices. I could go up the street in a somewhat safer location or I could go a little further where it’s border line hood but the dryers kick ass. I chose the kick ass dryers. When we pulled in there was a young man with lots of tattoos doing many loads of laundry and a car with a woman who was waiting for someone or was getting high in her car.

The girl and I went in. I put the towels in the dryer and put in two quarters which bought me sixteen minutes. While we were sitting there tattoo guys phone rang and he was talking to someone. The next thing we know this girl in a striped short skirt comes in and she never shut the fuck up. I really wanted to to tell her just that….shut the fuck up. They knew each other and yet they didn’t.

Every time I do laundry I’m always throwing away something he said. Sometimes I fill up the garbage with my clothes.

My mom always gets mad at me for throwing my stuff away when I can give it to Amvets. I do the same thing with the kids toys. I grab it and say “you don’t play with that anymore” and I throw it away she said in one breath.

She said something else that I can’t remember

He said I thought you only had two baby daddy’s?

No I got three and the second one threw me down the stairs and beat me like a Lifetime movie. I fucking hate him!

Now I am trying very hard to not look up from my phone and look at the girl but I am thinking “what the fuck??” Thankfully the sixteen minutes was all we needed and we were out of there. Talk about anxiety….I felt very uneasy in there.

On a less stressful note….I finally made my way through my mountain of binders last night. My whole organizing system wasn’t working for me and I was wasting space. I had one three inch binder (I will never buy one of those again) that someone at work took with my left over recipes. I took recipes and ideas from these….and put them in here……

It takes up much less space. I would like to take this moment and personally thank whoever created Pinterest. I can hoard ideas and recipes while not taking up any physical space….it’s genius!!

It’s been a long day and I am whooped…..Zia

 

About dragonflyzia

I am just a woman finally accepting that I was never meant to be in the box. I don't fit into any stereotypes, please don't try and label me, that doesn't work either. I am embracing my uniqueness in ways that are new and challenging to me, so that I may continue to grow and never stop learning.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Nervous Nellie

Please feel free to share your thoughts..........

