Still Spinning

Whoa what a weekend!  I never stopped, it was crazy busy. I noticed at work Friday that a couple patches of mushrooms sprouted up….fairy summit? Maybe it was party prep?  My theory is way better than plain old mushrooms….

Friday after work, I picked up the girl and headed over to the fancy pants restaurant to meet the family.  The original destination couldn’t accommodate seventeen on short notice so we went across the street. It was nice to get everyone together, it doesn’t happen very often. My aunt bought my dinner and the girls, it was an afterthought so I’m not exactly sure why she did. Don’t get me wrong, I am very grateful, I was surprised that’s all. I think maybe she felt bad because I ordered two sides in lieu of an entree? That really is what I wanted. No. I take that back. I was looking forward to cavatelli at the other restaurant but that wasn’t an option. I liked what I ordered, I was full and I didn’t have any leftovers, it was all good.

The girl and I met my aunt, cousin, aunt and uncle over at the hotel after dinner for some wine. That was the best conversation because we were a small enough group so we didn’t have to struggle to hear or join in. Guess what? My aunt smells random cigarette smoke too….and she never smoked. So if I’m crazy? It’s a family thing. She thinks hers is my great aunt where I think mine is my great uncle. My second guess is my great grandfather who I never met. Speaking of cigarettes…..I reached for one this morning. I’m not sure where that came from, it hasn’t happened in a really long time, and yet…there it was.

My cousin from the North (the one I met for breakfast on Easter) slept on my couch Friday night. I was a little nervous because …well…. clutter and my never ending battle. It was fine. I did struggle with going to bed at 1 am and getting up at 6:30 AND it rained all day. I desperately longed to be one of those people who were sitting on the couch binge watching a show. That was not in my cards.

We had to be at the baby shower for the twins at 9:30 am. My cousin and I were up at a time where we could share the bathroom with no issues. The girl was up and went back to sleep….I had no idea? I thought she was up there watching Youtube. I told her the night before to wear something nice. Were were literally walking out the door when she came downstairs…..wearing a tshirt,leggings,flip flops and a non brushed ponytail. What?!?! “No one cares what I am wearing?” she says. No…they are secretly judging me. Oh well, it was too late at that point. It started pouring down rain before the shower was over and then my hair was a hot mess too.

I was already tired and the rain made it so much worse. We went to the ReStore to pick up my lamp. My aunt picking up dinner Friday night made the $50.00 that this lamp cost hurt a little less….

I know it borders on gaudy…..I can’t help that I like it so much. It’s a 1969 Loevsky & Loevsky WMC. It’s a little dirty but it works. I haven’t had a single second to start disassembling and cleaning it.

My cousin went back home and I went to work. It was a very boring night which made it extra difficult because I was already tired. I was home a little after eight. I think I crashed around 9:30 on the couch. I woke up long enough to drag myself to bed and slept until 9:30 this morning. I was super tired. I missed breakfast club and made it to a free Yin yoga class at noon by the seat of my pants. I did get some weed pulling done and the front grass cut today. We had a slight monsoon so I didn’t cut the back.

There was a charity wine taste today that I went to with some girls from work. One is on the committee and two others are nurses from the back. I donated a book page wreath for the raffle and put all of my tickets in the bag for an autographed copy of the history of local restaurants. One of the nurses tossed in her ticket and said “if I win you can have it” Well….she won it. I tried to give her the gift card to the restaurant we were at because I really only wanted the book but she wouldn’t take it. So I said we should go for happy hour after work one day and the first $25.00 is on the gift card. I figure that way we are creating another opportunity to hang out. Yes I am still trying to bridge the gap between the front and the back…futile? Maybe? The Pollyanna in me thinks it’s still possible.

Tomorrow is Monday already….the first of May already….May Day, Beltane whatever you wish to call this fortuitous day. Time is flying…..Zia

About dragonflyzia

I am just a woman finally accepting that I was never meant to be in the box. I don't fit into any stereotypes, please don't try and label me, that doesn't work either. I am embracing my uniqueness in ways that are new and challenging to me, so that I may continue to grow and never stop learning.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Still Spinning

  1. AMAZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZING WOMAN

Please feel free to share your thoughts..........

