Food Experiment

Maybe I should say lack of food experiment…..three days, no caffeine, no sugar, and no alcohol. What was I thinking? I have a few different reasons. One, it’s supposed to kick start your metabolism. Two, I have been concentrating on how foods make me feel. I feel like this will give me a clean slate and I can get a better idea on how certain foods effect me. Three, to see if I could ‘not’ have a glass of wine at night. That last one is because the girl is always so dramatic about it. I didn’t used to always have a glass of wine at night. When the kids were little I rarely drank at all. I drank a lot the Summer of the Washington apple. I always say that summer was my ‘twenties’, since I never did the bar thing when everyone else did. Anyhoo, I started this yesterday…..

I didn’t really have the right food on hand to start it but I figured since I was going into work at 12:30 for a party at 2:00 that I would be done around six. That’s not how it went down. It was utter chaos when I first got there. All of the banquet rooms were being used including the chaffing pans. My party was in the center of the dining room and I had to wait for everything. It was not an ideal situation. Somehow it all worked out and I managed to get everything into place. Once they were all settled and moving on to opening presents I walked over and looked at the schedule. There was one server scheduled …..are you kidding me? Good thing I stayed because we got our asses handed to us. It’s not busy like that when there are five of us??? Needless to say, I didn’t get home until 9:00. There was another girl who worked an earlier party and she stayed too. Slower than molasses in January that one is….

I had no idea I would be there all day. I struggled with a few things. There was no dipping ciabatta bread in the homemade sauce, there was no ginger ale, and there was no “put me down ten french fries please” followed by me dipping them in ranch dressing. What did I eat? I cut up a tomato and ate that. It was tough but I did it. I even received a little present from the party which never happens. The bride gave me these….

It was a Bath and Body Works pineapple fiji lotion and body spray and a handmade sugar scrub. My nose won’t let me wear the scented lotions anymore so the girl happily took it off of my hands. The sugar scrub I will keep. It was very nice that she did that.

I came home to the girl and her friend….who hadn’t eaten anything. So I made them some turkey sausage sandwiches minus the bun. Once I sat down it was hard to get back up. So I grabbed some walnuts for a snack and went through every one of those Cook’s Illustrated magazines. I ripped out what I found interesting and the rest I will take to work tomorrow.

I had to skip breakfast at PT’s this morning. The temptation would have been too great, I know I would have caved.  I made the girls french toast, cleaned,did some laundry, and then went to the store for supplies.  I made them lemon pepper chicken salads for dinner and it smelled so good so I steamed a head of broccoli and seasoned it with lemon pepper. It wasn’t the same but it worked for my craving. So I ate a salad with a side of broccoli. I mostly kept myself busy cleaning my new lamp. I took every prism off and polished it and put it back. I will post pictures tomorrow.

Tomorrow….day three. One more day. I think tomorrow may be my hardest day. I munch on my non gmo popcorn all day at work and I’m pretty sure that I am not supposed to eat that in the three days. I am bringing nuts so hopefully that works.

I never had the headache that everyone talks about. Maybe because I only have one cup of coffee everyday? The only time I really struggled was after I had my salad and broccoli tonight, I really, really wanted something sweet. I was able to restrain myself. Two days down, one to go…….Zia

About dragonflyzia

I am just a woman finally accepting that I was never meant to be in the box. I don't fit into any stereotypes, please don't try and label me, that doesn't work either. I am embracing my uniqueness in ways that are new and challenging to me, so that I may continue to grow and never stop learning.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please feel free to share your thoughts..........

