Oh Friday….I Could Just Kiss You

Thank goodness I can finally put this week behind me. For being such a rough week, today was surprisingly easy. Except for that part where I spent two hours on the phone with Eyemed. Fifteen minutes total speaking with an actual person and an hour and forty five minutes on hold or trying to get past Eva, the virtual assistant. They only let you check on five claims at a time and I had twenty.Yep, I talked to four different people.

We still didn’t leave work until 5:17 which is later than it should have been but still wasn’t so bad. There’s always that one Chatty Cathy that has to ruin it for everybody. Lesson learned and that patient will never be scheduled that late again.

I needed to be out at a somewhat decent hour because it was book club tonight. It was a very lively discussion.

SB couldn’t get past the fact that she left without her daughter. I agree, I couldn’t have left mine but the times were different back then. This was about Mata Hari and her survival. My synopsis in a nutshell…..the world fucked her, she fucked it right back, and the only reason she took a bullet was because she was a woman. No person should have to suffer the way that woman suffered. She did what she had to, to survive her world.

So Sb and I went a couple of friendly rounds about that, like I said….it was a lively discussion. We ventured off topic a lot and boy oh boy did we laugh. It was a good night. The laughter was much needed after this week.

Yesterday at work we received every off the wall phone call possible. Here is one example….

“John, your secondary insurance isn’t paying. You need to contact medicaid and find out why.”

“I don’t have medicaid, that asshole Trump did away with medicaid.”

“Sir, the president did not get rid of your medicaid.”

“He has his head so far up Putin’s ass, he doesn’t know anything.”

“Sir, I don’t see how Putin is relevant here.”

“Do you even know who Putin is? He is the enemy, he is Russia. I served in Vietnam and I know an enemy when I see one.”

“John”

“yes”

“You still need to call medicaid and find out why they aren’t paying.”

He said a few other things and I cut  him off as I was hanging up. Normally I don’t engage in this way but after many dealings with this particular patient I know it really doesn’t matter what I say. He isn’t listening to me.One out of every three phone calls on Thursday were just plain crazy. I was so mentally spent by the time I left work on Thursday, it was ridiculous. Needless to say, I did nothing last night.

We had Chinese for lunch at work yesterday. I still ate my big salad but I did break down and have a couple pieces of General Tso’s chicken, which led to a touch of heartburn. It didn’t last long but it was there. I had to eat two fortune cookies because the first fortune made no sense. How do you aim high in hope?

My life seems to be getting away from me again. We have had to many late nights at work as of late. I only get one day off so something has to give. I guess I am feeling a little overwhelmed at the moment. So much to do…so little time……Zia

 

About dragonflyzia

I am just a woman finally accepting that I was never meant to be in the box. I don't fit into any stereotypes, please don't try and label me, that doesn't work either. I am embracing my uniqueness in ways that are new and challenging to me, so that I may continue to grow and never stop learning.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Oh Friday….I Could Just Kiss You

  1. Corky Morrissey says:

    YOWZERRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR

Please feel free to share your thoughts..........

