Red Socks?

Sooooo, RD and I went to a architectural historical tour of downtown tonight. We met up with the two who were giving the tour and introduced ourselves. Both are very knowledgeable about the history of my town. I did learn a lot of things that I didn’t know and I am very glad that I went. I wish there was more walking while talking during this event. It was more of a talk than a tour.

The older of the two was wearing khaki pants and a long sleeve button down shirt. The younger author was wearing a blue suit of a summer fabric and I wish I was better at fashion because it has a name.  When the older one sat down I noticed his big thick red socks. First of all it was way too hot for that much sock and second of all……red? Red didn’t match anything? His shoes and his belt match so I am going to go out on a limb and say this was on purpose????? I haven’t gotten over the red sock thing and any other historical function that I go to and he is there….he will be referred to as red socks.

Anyhoo…..the history. My grandmother came here in 1928 right in the middle of the heyday of this town. There was culture, there was style, there was entertainment….big names too.  Sure there was mafia and not everyone agrees with me when I say “things were better when they ran this town.” Now drugs run this town. You here stories at least twice a week where a three or four year old has to call 911 because grandma and grandpa or mommy or daddy won’t wake up. It’s a scary ass world right now. I’m sure they had their problems back then too. 

The girl always asks me “how can you love the history of this town so much and hate where you live at the same time?” I don’t know….maybe I was meant to be a snowbird? I hate how the road crews won’t take care of the roads in the winter. It really bothers me, I can’t help it. I like the change of seasons but winter in my town is no fun. Plus there’s the whole vitamin D thing.

I love the patina on this door, I couldn’t take a good picture of it to save my life….

RD and I stopped at a little Italian place while were downtown. She had this spicy friend cheese that I have never seen before and I had baked artichoke hearts in parmesan cheese and olive oil.

It was so good but it was too much. I couldn’t even eat half of it. Speaking of food…..I went to my favorite Italian deli and stocked up today. I had a piece and a half of swiss cheese when I got home. That piece and a half was like a huge weight on my stomach. Listen…..I can give up milk, I can give up cream…but cheese? I don’t think I can do it. I have mozzarella and american in the fridge to try, maybe tomorrow? All of this paying attention…..what did I get myself into?

I stopped at two craft stores today looking for a frame for my new unicorn print. I found nothing. I really like the way the frame I found at Joann’s looked but it was too big. I don’t want it to be huge on the wall.

 

Today went so fast….all of my days seem to go so fast, I can’t believe it’s bed time already…..Zia

 

About dragonflyzia

I am just a woman finally accepting that I was never meant to be in the box. I don't fit into any stereotypes, please don't try and label me, that doesn't work either. I am embracing my uniqueness in ways that are new and challenging to me, so that I may continue to grow and never stop learning.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Red Socks?

  1. Corky Morrissey says:

    YOU ARE AMAZING – LOVER YOU

Please feel free to share your thoughts..........

