Rising Sun

I had one of those magical moments the other day. I can’t remember if it was Wednesday or Thursday morning. I was driving down the road and with all of the trees it was pretty dark….maybe it had rained that morning? Usually at this time of year the sun is past the rising when I am going to work so it had to be because of the rain and the clouds. Anyhoo…I looked up because that’s what I do and sitting on the peak of a little house is a rather large owl. My first thought was “hawk” but it’s head was larger and rounder than that of a hawk. The morning light was shining directly on this bird, and he was basking in the glow. I struggled to fight the urge I had to turn my car around and try and capture the moment on my phone. The clouds had blocked out the sun in a way that it reminded me of something biblical. The Universe was shining it’s light, illuminating this bird and I was the only one there to witness it.

I love morning light above all others, sadly I can never drag my ass out of bed to see it. It’s a nice thought to say that I should make the effort to try and wake up earlier so I can experience it everyday. Let’s be honest….that date I have with the snooze button every morning has been going on since high school. Old dog….new tricks….not likely.

I witnessed another miracle yesterday. Remember my big night of chicken cooking? It was too late to clean up the kitchen so I left it. I woke up the next morning, shook my head at myself and said “this is going to suck big time when I get home from work.” I came home from work and the dishes were done….I almost fell over!  The girl cleaned everything but the three cast iron skillets that I used to cook the sausage. I couldn’t believe my eyes! She said “I figured that this mess was because of me and it’s the least I could do since you spent all night cooking chicken.” See….miracles do happen!

The boy and I hung out today. He’s my garage sale buddy and he wanted to go to the ReStore with me. I found a couple things and he found one or two. We even went to lunch. I had been wanting to try this little local place that everyone raves about so we stopped there. It really is tiny, I counted 38 chairs and then there was a bar for seating, I didn’t count those seats. It was super tasty! It was brunch so I had the half serving of sausage gravy and biscuits which was amazing and the boy had a fried chicken sandwich that was drizzled in syrup. I took a bite of his sandwich and the breading was the lightest and  flakiest that I have ever tasted. I will definitely be returning to this place.

Now I have to go get ready for work. I am grateful that I have this waitress job but most days it’s really hard to muster up the motivation to get ready. I’m okay once I get there, it’s just that there is so much that needs done around here…..Zia

About dragonflyzia

I am just a woman finally accepting that I was never meant to be in the box. I don't fit into any stereotypes, please don't try and label me, that doesn't work either. I am embracing my uniqueness in ways that are new and challenging to me, so that I may continue to grow and never stop learning.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please feel free to share your thoughts..........

