Not So Bad….

The girl’s photo board for the graduation party is finally done. I didn’t admit to myself until today why I was dragging my feet……Cockroach photos. It really wasn’t so bad. I am not sure if it’s because I was mentally prepared for it or if it was just time? The important part is where it didn’t have any effect on me.

Yesterday it was just a glance. I turned the page with the photo over and went about my work. We were missing two pictures so I had to wait until I picked those up from Walgreens today to finish. I use “we” very loosely. It was all me unless the girl voiced an opinion.  I am not crazy about the snapchat photos but she wanted them and there are only a few…..disturbing little things. I didn’t go crazy pulling out the baby pictures and there is only one board. The two parties last week each had three. I take that back I have a photo collage I am bringing that I took out of a frame I gave away. I made that years and years ago. I made a photo book of the pictures from volleyball when the girl was in junior high. They won the championship so it was a big deal….to me it was like they won the superbowl. I couldn’t find that thing anywhere. I really had to dig through boxes of pictures and in between scrapbooks.  Once I went through everything three times I made the girl go to her room and check her bookshelves. It took her three seconds to find it. 

We came across quite a few Cockroach pictures in our search. I have a whole scrapbook from when SB and I bowled. She brought her husband and I brought Cockroach. The girl looked through it too when I was searching in another room. He smiled in one out of fifteen pictures….I was so clueless. Oh well it’s over and done with now.

Now the only thing I need for that table is a few Sharpies for people to sign the Jenga pieces. I have enlisted some help with the food. My aunt is making the green beans and my sister in law is making the salad. My aunt backed out of cooking the pasta so I have my fingers crossed that the chef at my waitress job will do it for me. I get that she was nervous about it….so was I, that’s why I was trying to give that one away. I have a couple people who volunteered to make cookies and Negative Nancy is making a roast beef for sandwiches. I need to buy some red skin potatoes and ice the day of the party. I had the girl ask her dad to buy some pop and water which he agreed to do so now he is bringing that in a addition to the cake. I don’t think that is too much to ask since I have done everything else.

I called around for prices on baby’s breath yesterday and holy cow is it expensive. Maybe not for one bunch but I need to fill 18 mason jars. I am not spending $60.00 on centerpieces….I am not that person.  Force of Nature Girl suggested wildflowers, meaning the ones wild at work that line the parking lot. We have a ton of crown vetch and I grabbed some to sample their hardiness in water and they are still going strong today. I only need them to last a few hours.

Last night the girl and I had turkey burgers on the grill. Not the frozen kind…. I bought the fresh ground patties. There were so white? How could they possibly have an flavor? I wasn’t convinced that this would be a tasty dinner. I grabbed a jar of roasted red peppers took one big pepper out, put it in my Nutri Bullet with a couple of tablespoons of mayo and whoa was that sauce good. There were no leftovers last night, another happy accident.

Tomorrow is a very busy day. The girl has orientation at the university and it’s all day. Fingers crossed that we get out of there in time for me to go to work and then we have a bonfire to go to after work. It’s going to be a long day and the forecast says it’s going to be hotter than Satan’s balls in leather pants…..Zia

About dragonflyzia

I am just a woman finally accepting that I was never meant to be in the box. I don't fit into any stereotypes, please don't try and label me, that doesn't work either. I am embracing my uniqueness in ways that are new and challenging to me, so that I may continue to grow and never stop learning.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Not So Bad….

  1. “Hotter than Satan’s balls in leather pants”, that cracked me up.

Please feel free to share your thoughts..........

