Horizons

Life is about broadening your horizons and experiencing new things….right? Last night my wine steward friend and I went to a local Greek festival. With the exception of my Greek God knowledge from seventh grade, everything I know about the Greek culture comes from My Big Fat Greek Wedding. I don’t even know if it is accurate, one of the ladies last night didn’t have nice things to say about the movie so your guess is as good as mine.

I liked the folk music, although it made me want to yell “oom pa” and I don’t even know what that means? There was a little girl in the food line behind us who was dressed like a fairy she was my favorite part of the night. She was not shy at all and later she was on the dance floor dancing like she owned it.

I took a picture of the food description because I knew I would never remember.

When I ordered the dolemathes, I opted for one with meat and two without. The one with the meat was so much tastier.  I brought the same home for the girl to eat and she wasn’t impressed. She heard festival and thought I would be bringing her home fried dough….wrong kind of festival.  For desert we were strongly recommended to get this shredder wheat looking cookie.

It was tasty but filling, I couldn’t finish mine. We went because on of my wine steward’s accounts had promised her Greek wine and beer and she has never tried them. I am not much for the beer but I tried the wine. I agree with his statement that it is in acquired taste. Flowery. That is the word I would use to describe the wine.

My friend tried both brands of beer. When she was on the second one I glanced over at the label and sure enough….it was a unicorn. They are everywhere.

It was a fairly small festival and after eating and listening to a bit of music there wasn’t much for two non-Greek girls to do. Since we were downtown…..we stopped at a wine bar.

This wine was much better. There was an old time band playing in the square and since we sat outside we could hear it for the most part. Any other rare time that I venture downtown to one of these bars, I feel a million years old. Last night…I was feeling on the young side. The band in the square brought out many in the sixty and up range. I would say they were the majority last night. We had one glass and then we headed home. It was a nice night.

Today my aunt went with me to the ReStore to pick up my chair. People were killing me in the store. One woman even came up to me and said ” I know they only keep things for seven days, I was hoping you wouldn’t come back in time so I could snatch it up?” First of all …..who says something like that? Secondly I know someone who works there and that would never happen. Some people….

It is safely at home waiting for me to make it mine. A little paint, maybe a cushion? I was thinking of using it as a portable meditation chair? Maybe if it is was against the wall? It’s on wheels and that could end badly.

The girl’s best friend had her graduation party today. The starting time and my work schedule conflicted so I was going to ask the boy to take her. Then I checked Google maps. I think maybe some people from Google should drive some of those routes. I always read the directions before I do anything. Oak…where? Heck to the know ….as the kids would say…it was taking me through the hood. The boy wouldn’t even know until he was there. So I took the girl to her bff’s house a few hours before the party and then I went to pick her up after work. I went my own way to pick her  up which meant constant “recalculating” and then I listened up one I entered the park system of death in the dark….that wasn’t my favorite part of the day. It wasn’t quite as bad leaving the park.

On my way to my waitress job I got pulled over. No, it was not because of my lead foot, thankfully. I failed to come to a complete stop at a stop sign in a section with five stops signs. There were no other cars….I roll through stop signs all of the time. When I was taking my driving classes the woman almost gave me whiplash when she slammed on her brakes on the passenger side. “you didn’t come to a complete stop!” I guess I still need to work on that one thirty years later. He was nice and let me go but not before he lectured me about not having my gun on me. He sounded just like my cousins. Part of it made sense and I fell out of the habit ever since I went to the teeny purse. I have been looking for a while now for  a new purse….they are so hard to find. Maybe I am just to picky?

Work was actually a little busy tonight, only because of the party. Some of these people were even at the concert last night. They were in for some kind of reunion. I could have killed myself and taken the whole thing by myself….and that was offered to me. I said “no” because it wouldn’t be fair for only one person to make money so we split it down the middle.

It’s been a busy weekend so far. I will leave you with the image I took after I woke up from my nap on Friday. It was a beautiful day to nap outside……Zia

About dragonflyzia

I am just a woman finally accepting that I was never meant to be in the box. I don't fit into any stereotypes, please don't try and label me, that doesn't work either. I am embracing my uniqueness in ways that are new and challenging to me, so that I may continue to grow and never stop learning.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please feel free to share your thoughts..........

